使用付费商业模式

Lifeline 是一系列互动游戏,在游戏中,玩家与身处险境的虚拟人物实时交流,并通过选项来引导这个角色安全脱险。

通过锁定屏幕上的 iOS 通知,打造能够同时在 app 内和 app 外玩的游戏 —— 这就是创造出 Lifeline 的理念。当 Apple Watch 发布时,3 Minute Games 发现这种游戏设计特别适合在一天内不时与手表进行短暂互动,因此他们加倍努力,在 Apple Watch 上市之时推出了第一款 Lifeline 游戏。

3 Minute Games 首席游戏设计师 Mars Jokela 表示:“Lifeline 是一次有趣的尝试,因为我们的专长一直都是推出免费游戏。我们为 Lifeline 选择了付费商业模式,因为它最符合这款游戏的设计理念。它是一个拟真故事。我们不希望游戏中出现任何追加销售的地方,破坏你的游戏体验。”

Lifeline 系列游戏首席制作人 Marisa Bell 指出了这一模式的其他好处。她说道:“采用付费模式大大简化了我们的游戏开发,让我们能够很快地将游戏推向市场。失败的代价也有所降低,所以我们可以进行更多的尝试。”与付费模式相比,免费增值游戏可能需要更强的经济基础,或者更多的资源来进行持续开发。

随着第一款游戏发展成熟,该工作室发布了 Lifeline 2、Lifeline: Silent Night 和 Lifeline: Whiteout 等续集,并通过宣传推广壮大了用户群,同时让现有用户知道这一系列还包含其他游戏。

Bell 说道:“我们推出了一系列 Lifeline 游戏,这也影响着我们的商业化策略。每次发布第一款游戏的续集,都必须要创意十足。因此,我们通过了多种方式积极宣传,例如 App Store 中的 app 套装,还有广告信息等其他交叉推广工具。”

3 Minute Games 确保自身可以通过各种方式在 Lifeline 游戏内外与用户沟通交流,并在 app 生命周期内的重要时间点配合进行宣传推广。Bell 表示:“我们发现,如果 app 版本发布的间隔较长,就必须吸引用户一直保持关注。我们成功做到了这一点。在节假日期间,我们积极进行促销推广,举办精彩的宣传活动。”

Jokela 指出,对于考虑付费商业模式的游戏开发商来说,一切都始于打造优质的产品。“要让用户愿意花钱购买你的游戏,那么游戏体验首先必须得引人入胜,而且还要能与玩家产生共鸣。”

探索如何“为 App 选择商业模式”

创立时间
2014

总部
加州奥克兰
华盛顿州西雅图

提及的 App
Lifeline
Lifeline 2
Lifeline: Silent Night
Lifeline: Whiteout

类别:
游戏

平台:
iOS
watchOS

我们为 Lifeline 选择了付费商业模式,因为它最符合这款游戏的设计理念。它是一个拟真故事。我们不希望游戏中出现任何追加销售的地方,破坏你的游戏体验。

Mars Jokela —— 3 Minute Games 首席游戏设计师

Developer Insight

3 Minute Games

Watch the video

Prior to launching the first Lifeline game on the App Store, 3 Minute Games’ expertise lay in releasing freemium games. The Big Fish studio shares why the paid business model made sense for the Lifeline series, and how the team keeps players engaged between releases.

Using the Paid Business Model

Lifeline is a series of interactive games in which players communicate with a fictional person in distress, in real time, and make choices to guide the character to safety.

Lifeline began as an idea to create a game that could be played both in-app and outside of the app via iOS notifications on the lock screen. When Apple Watch was announced, 3 Minute Games saw that the game design was particularly well suited to interacting with the watch in brief periods over the course of the day, and so redoubled its efforts to launch the first Lifeline game in time for the release of Apple Watch.

“Lifeline was an interesting experiment for us because all of our expertise was in releasing free-to-play games,” says Mars Jokela, Lead Game Designer at 3 Minute Games. “We chose the paid business model for Lifeline because it was the best fit for the game's design. It's a very immersive story. We didn't want any upsell points to interrupt your experience in the game.”

Marisa Bell, Lead Producer of the Lifeline series, notes other benefits of the model. “Using the paid model has simplified our game development significantly, and it's allowed us to get to market very quickly. It’s also less costly to fail so we can try more,” she says, comparing the paid model to freemium games that may have large economies to balance or require greater resources for ongoing development.

As the first game matured, the studio released sequels — Lifeline 2, Lifeline: Silent Night, and Lifeline: Whiteout — and used promotions to grow its user base and let existing users know that there were more games in the series.

“Having a series of games for Lifeline has impacted our monetization strategy in that we had to really get creative once we released sequels to the first game,” says Bell. “And so we used things like App Bundles in the App Store and other cross-promotional tools that we had, such as our newsletter, to try to get the word out there.”

3 Minute Games makes sure that it has ways to communicate with users across the Lifeline games and outside of the apps, and aligns promotions with significant times in the app's life cycle. “We've found that when you have a long gap between app releases, you have to keep your users engaged,” says Bell. “And so we've done that through promotions and through making sure that we do really high-quality things around seasons.”

For game developers considering a paid business model, Jokela says that everything starts with building a quality product. “You have to have an experience that's engaging and resonates with players in the first place if anyone's going to spend money on your product.”

Explore Choosing a Business Model

We chose the paid business model for Lifeline because it was the best fit for the game's design. It's a very immersive story. We didn't want any upsell points to interrupt your experience in the game.

Mars Jokela, Lead Game Designer at 3 Minute Games