A message that tells the user why the app needs access to files on a network volume.
- macOS 10.15+
- Privacy - Network Volumes Usage Description
The user implicitly grants your app access to a file on a network volume when selecting the file in an Open or Save panel, dragging it onto your app, or opening it in Finder. Your app can access that file right away and any time in the future. In addition, if your app creates a new file on a network volume, the app can access that file without user consent.
The first time your app tries to access a file on a network volume without implied user consent, the system prompts the user for permission to access network volumes. Add the
NSNetwork key to your app’s Information Property List file to provide a string for the prompt that explains why your app needs access. The usage description is optional, but highly recommended.
After the user chooses whether to grant access, the system remembers the user’s choice. To reset permissions, use the
tccutil command line utility with your app’s bundle ID: