<!--
{
  "availability" : [
    "VPP License Management: 1.0.0 -"
  ],
  "documentType" : "symbol",
  "framework" : "DeviceManagement",
  "identifier" : "/documentation/DeviceManagement/RegisterVppUserRequest",
  "metadataVersion" : "0.1.0",
  "role" : "Object",
  "symbol" : {
    "kind" : "Object",
    "modules" : [
      "Device Management"
    ],
    "preciseIdentifier" : "mdm-apps:vpp:RegisterVppUserRequest"
  },
  "title" : "RegisterVppUserRequest"
}
-->

# RegisterVppUserRequest

The request for registering a user.

```
object RegisterVppUserRequest
```

## Discussion

### ClientUserIdStr

The `clientUserIdStr` must be unique within the organization and can’t be changed after a user is registered. Don’t use an email address because a future user might reuse an email address. You can use the GUID of the user.

When a user is first registered, the userʼs initial status is `Registered`.

If the user is already registered, as identified by `clientUserIdStr`, the following occurs:

- If the user’s status is `Registered` or `Associated`, that active user account returns.
- If the user’s status is `Retired` and the user was never assigned to an iTunes account, the account’s status changes to `Registered` and the existing user returns.
- If the user’s status is `Retired` and the user was previously assigned to an iTunes account, a new account is created.

It’s possible for more than one user record to exist for the same `clientUserIdStr` value — one for each iTunes account the `clientUserIdStr` value was associated with in the past (in addition to a currently active record or a retired and never-associated record). Each of these users has a unique `userId` value. Over time, with iTunes Store assignment, retirement, and reassignment, it’s possible for the active user’s `userId` value for a given `clientUserIdStr` to change.

Additionally, if two user identifiers exist for a given `clientUserIdStr`, one assigned to an iTunes account and the other unassigned, and a user accepts an invitation to be associated, it’s possible for the user to use the same iTunes account they used previously. If the user does so, the unassigned user record gets marked with the `Retired` status, and the formerly retired user record gets moved to the `Associated` status.

---

Copyright &copy; 2026 Apple Inc. All rights reserved. | [Terms of Use](https://www.apple.com/legal/internet-services/terms/site.html) | [Privacy Policy](https://www.apple.com/privacy/privacy-policy)