<!--
{
  "availability" : [
    "iOS: 14.0.0 -",
    "iPadOS: 14.0.0 -",
    "macCatalyst: 14.0.0 -",
    "macOS: 11.0.0 -",
    "tvOS: 14.0.0 -",
    "visionOS: 1.0.0 -",
    "watchOS: 7.0.0 -"
  ],
  "documentType" : "symbol",
  "framework" : "Network",
  "identifier" : "/documentation/Network/NWParameters/PrivacyContext/default",
  "metadataVersion" : "0.1.0",
  "role" : "Type Property",
  "symbol" : {
    "kind" : "Type Property",
    "modules" : [
      "Network"
    ],
    "preciseIdentifier" : "s:7Network12NWParametersC14PrivacyContextC7defaultAEvpZ"
  },
  "title" : "default"
}
-->

# default

The privacy context that applies to all connections that do not use a custom context.

```
static let `default`: NWParameters.PrivacyContext
```

## Discussion

You cannot disable logging on the default privacy context.

Flushing the cache on the default privacy context will not affect other privacy contexts.

Changing name resolution settings will only affect privacy contexts that did not already explicitly configure resolution requirements.

---

Copyright &copy; 2026 Apple Inc. All rights reserved. | [Terms of Use](https://www.apple.com/legal/internet-services/terms/site.html) | [Privacy Policy](https://www.apple.com/privacy/privacy-policy)