<!--
{
  "availability" : [
    "iOS: 14.0.0 -",
    "iPadOS: 14.0.0 -",
    "macCatalyst: 14.0.0 -",
    "macOS: 11.0.0 -",
    "tvOS: 14.0.0 -",
    "visionOS: 1.0.0 -"
  ],
  "documentType" : "symbol",
  "framework" : "AppTrackingTransparency",
  "identifier" : "/documentation/AppTrackingTransparency/ATTrackingManager/AuthorizationStatus/restricted",
  "metadataVersion" : "0.1.0",
  "role" : "Case",
  "symbol" : {
    "kind" : "Case",
    "modules" : [
      "App Tracking Transparency"
    ],
    "preciseIdentifier" : "c:@E@ATTrackingManagerAuthorizationStatus@ATTrackingManagerAuthorizationStatusRestricted"
  },
  "title" : "ATTrackingManager.AuthorizationStatus.restricted"
}
-->

# ATTrackingManager.AuthorizationStatus.restricted

The value that returns if authorization to access app-related data for
tracking the user or the device has a restricted status.

```
case restricted
```

## Discussion

A restricted condition means the device does not prompt for tracking
authorization when
[`requestTrackingAuthorization(completionHandler:)`](/documentation/AppTrackingTransparency/ATTrackingManager/requestTrackingAuthorization(completionHandler:))
is called, nor is it displayed when the
<doc://com.apple.documentation/documentation/BundleResources/Information-Property-List/NSUserTrackingUsageDescription>
is triggered. Also, on restricted devices, the Allow Apps To Request To
Track setting is disabled and cannot be changed. This setting allows
users to opt in or out of allowing apps to request user consent to
access app-related data that can be used for tracking the user or the
device.

---

Copyright &copy; 2026 Apple Inc. All rights reserved. | [Terms of Use](https://www.apple.com/legal/internet-services/terms/site.html) | [Privacy Policy](https://www.apple.com/privacy/privacy-policy)