jpackage calling codesign

I'm new to Mac and packaging and signing, but I've come a long way. I've got a Developer ID and a code signing certificate. I want to package a Java app and first of all distribute it from my website, not AppStore. my jpackage call is this:

[ ! -d smalljre ] && jlink -p /usr/lib/jvm/java-17-openjdk-amd64/jmods --add-modules java.base,java.desktop --output ./smalljre

jpackage --verbose
--input build
--main-jar i2brain.jar
--name i2Brain
--app-version 3.3.2
--type app-image
--runtime-image ./smalljre

I know I will need to sign the app, see below.

The output:

Mac-mini:FromUbuntu johnmac$ ./run_jpackage 

[14:56:32.358] Creating app package: i2Brain.app in /Users/johnmac/Downloads/FromUbuntu

[14:56:32.656] Using default package resource JavaApp.icns [icon] (add i2Brain.icns to the resource-dir to customize).

[14:56:32.658] Preparing Info.plist: /Users/johnmac/Downloads/FromUbuntu/i2Brain.app/Contents/Info.plist.

[14:56:32.660] Using default package resource Info-lite.plist.template [Application Info.plist] (add Info.plist to the resource-dir to customize).

[14:56:32.669] Using default package resource Runtime-Info.plist.template [Java Runtime Info.plist] (add Runtime-Info.plist to the resource-dir to customize).

[14:56:32.684] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:32.717] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:32.790] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:32.883] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:32.945] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:33.008] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:33.071] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:33.141] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:37.061] Running /usr/bin/codesign

[14:56:37.121] java.io.IOException: Command [/usr/bin/codesign, --remove-signature, /Users/johnmac/Downloads/FromUbuntu/i2Brain.app/Contents/runtime/Contents/Home/lib/libjava.dylib] exited with 1 code

at jdk.jpackage/jdk.jpackage.internal.Executor.executeExpectSuccess(Executor.java:90)

at jdk.jpackage/jdk.jpackage.internal.IOUtils.exec(IOUtils.java:215)