为 App 扩展新市场

App Store 现已在 175 个国家和地区推出,并支持 40 种语言,让全球各地的用户能够轻松发现和下载您的 app。对您的 app 进行本地化能帮助它面向各种文化和语言,并为您创造机会扩大业务。了解如何为您的 app 做好面向全球受众的准备,并了解开拓新市场时需要考虑的事项。

    架构 App 时加入本地化考量

    构建一款面向全球受众的 app,国际化是必不可少的第一步,也是在架构 app 的代码和用户界面时加入本地化考量的过程。借助 Apple 各种强大的工具和技术,包括 Xcode 11、Apple API、自动布局和 Unicode 支持,即使您尚未确定要添加哪些语言,也可以轻松地为 app 支持多种语言和地区做好准备。

    在 Xcode 中,确保将用户端的文本及图像与可执行代码区分开。当您将这些内容翻译为其他语言后,它们可作为单独本地化资源文件,储存在 app 捆绑包中,并再次整合到 app 里。包括图像集、Apple Watch 复杂功能、Apple TV 图像栈和 Sprite Atlas 以及符号集在内的各种图像,都可以直接在素材目录中进行本地化。您还可以使用本地化的 SF 系统符号 (英文),并为自定符号设置方向性,例如,为阿拉伯语和希伯来语等从右至左显示的语言设置方向性。

    利用 Apple API 准确地在不同的地区展示用户端的值或动态生成的值,例如日期、长度、重量、价格及货币符号。确保您的 app 能够接受以任何语言以及同时以多种语言呈现的用户生成文本,而不受用户界面语言的限制。这让 app 内容能以用户首选的语言和格式显示。您还可以利用自动布局 (英文) 功能来自动调整视图的尺寸和布局,利用广泛的 Unicode 支持来处理任何语言的文本,以及利用 Cocoa 和 Cocoa Touch 强大的文本处理技术来显示、布局和编辑多种语言的文本,等等。

    iOS 13iPadOS 13 中,用户可以为您的 app 单独选择他们的首选语言,而不受设备语言的限制,让多语言用户能够轻松地在您的 app 中切换语言。在 macOS Catalina 上,用户可以在“系统偏好设置”的“语言与地区”部分中设置 app 的语言。

    为全球受众做好准备

    调查市场因素

    探索特定市场的人口统计数据,如人口、语言和购买力,可以帮助您更好地了解您的 app 在哪些地区可能有吸引力或者有需求。至于顾客最喜欢的 app 类型或类别,每个市场都有自己的偏好。例如,游戏在全球各地都很受欢迎,但是策略游戏在特定地区可能更受欢迎。您可以考虑根据自己已经取得成功的市场 (参照例如 app 的大量下载、销售和使用,以及长期持续使用情况等相关指标),来选择具有相似属性的市场,这样可能更容易实现业务增长。在选择时,要评估您的 app 是否适合这个市场,以及它的价值和功能是否符合这个市场的需求。您甚至可能会发现这个市场上尚未得到满足的需求,从而通过您的 app 为用户带来独特的价值。

    利用“App 分析”确定潜在市场

    如果您的 app 在全球范围内提供,但尚未针对特定地区进行本地化,您可以查看按地区筛选的关键表现指标,如产品页面浏览次数、App 销量、销售额以及处于活动状态的设备。这可以帮助确定您的 app 是否吸引特定地区的用户,判断本地化能否帮助 app 在这些地区中更进一步。例如,如果您的 app 主要使用英语,而您发现在德国平均持续使用率或每台处于活动状态的设备的 App 使用次数较低,那么您或许可考虑添加德语支持。请记住,有些市场的用户可能更精通您 app 的主要语言,而另一些市场可能需要更大量的本地化工作。处于活动状态的设备、使用次数以及持续使用情况等使用数据只涵盖同意与您共享诊断及使用信息的用户。

    有关使用“App 分析”的更多信息,请参阅“借助 App 分析,获取深入的洞见”。

    考虑当地的文化和习俗

    虽然您的 app 和产品页面应该在所有市场上都提供一致的体验,但有时也需要优化某些元素来提高文化相关性。例如,您或许可以尝试结合市场特定的内容或文化活动,例如特殊的节日内容或地区性艺术风格。您可能要考虑任何当地政策和市场法规,以及任何政治或宗教敏感性,使您的 app 更容易获得好评。

    本地化您的 App

    翻译用户可见内容

    您可以使用 Xcode 导出本地化 (英文) 功能来自动提取所有可本地化的内容,包括代码、stringsdict 文件和 Interface Builder 文件中引用的字符串以及任何本地化素材资源。这个过程一般不需要修改源代码,可以轻松进行内部翻译工作或外部本地化服务。请务必对用途字符串 (英文) 进行本地化,以便打造一致的 app 体验,并考虑本地化您的隐私政策,让所有用户都清楚地了解他们的数据可能被如何处理。

    Apple 服务。您可以使用 Apple API 来自动显示 Apple PayApple 钱包 (英文) 以及通过 Apple 登录 (英文)的本地化按钮、付款单、错误等。

    音视频媒体。您还可以使用 AVKit 和 AVFoundation 来为 app 中的音视频媒体提供本地化支持。这些框架 (英文) 提供了内置支持,可以方便地显示字幕和隐藏式字幕,并可以选择替代的音频和视频轨道。

    本地化服务。如果选择外部本地化服务来帮助翻译内容,请查明他们是否擅长为特定的语言、文化或类别提供本地化服务,并确认他们提供的质量保证水平。向本地化服务机构提供有关 app 和内容的情境可以帮助提高效率并尽量减少翻译错误。可以考虑制作一份包含重要细节的指南;例如,包含角色名称和性格的指南,对笑话或幽默的解释,常用术语的词汇表,以及显示翻译内容使用位置的截屏。请不要完全依赖机器翻译,这可能导致翻译不准确且质量不佳,因为机器翻译不会考虑情境、文化敏感性或语言的细微差别。例如,酒店 app 中的“book”按钮可能被错误地翻译为“书籍”而不是“预订”。

    测试您的本地化内容

    在 Xcode 中配置测试计划,在同一处轻松地使用不同的设置运行测试并定义您的测试变体。这有助于标记您所支持设备和语言的任何剪切、截断、布局重叠的实例,或从右至左格式化的问题。您可以使用本地化截屏功能从成功的测试中生成本地化截屏,并导出这些截屏用于教程、营销材料或 App Store 产品页面。在完成 app 本地化后,您可以使用 TestFlight 与目标市场上的一组用户共享您的 app,以获得反馈并收集改进机会。

    为发布做好准备

    本地化您的产品页面

    针对您的 app 可供销售的每个国家或地区,在 App Store Connect 上本地化 App Store 元数据 (例如 app 的描述、关键词、App 预览和截屏)。您还可以翻译您的 app 名称并定制您的关键词,以反映每个市场的价值,这样您的 app 可能会更好地引起当地受众共鸣。您还能使用 App Store Connect API 来自动化元数据的上传和管理,为多个地区本地化。

    国际付款方式和定价

    App Store 会处理付款事宜,让您能轻松方便地向全球用户提供内容。用户可以使用信用卡或借记卡、运营商账单、数字钱包或 App Store 与 iTunes 礼品卡为您的 app 以及 App 内购买项目付款,具体视地区提供情况而定。

    在为您的 app 以及 App 内购买项目定价时,您将在 App Store Connect 中选择一个价格等级,其中包含已经为每个国家或地区的市场做过适当调整的价格。对于自动续期订阅,您可以从所有可用货币和价格等级的 200 个价格点中选择,为每个地区提供合适的定价。

    调整您的营销策略

    在新的市场上推出您的 app 时,您需要根据这个地区的情况调整您的营销策略,帮助受众轻松地了解您的 app 及其提供的价值。调查哪些社交网络或其他渠道最受当地受众的欢迎 (相关情况在不同的市场上可能有很大差异),选择影响力大的渠道来宣传您的 app。对您在市场营销和用户获取工作中使用的任何材料进行本地化,如截屏、横幅和广告。

    App Store 徽章。在您的信息中使用“App Store 下载”徽章,简单明确地指引用户下载您的 app。我们提供了本地化的徽章,可让您的国际受众知道您的 app 是为他们量身定制的。您可以从“App Store 营销准则”中下载这些徽章。

    Search Ads。此外,您还可以使用 Apple Search Ads 来吸引用户探索您的 app。Search Ads 让您可以在超过 60 个国家和地区的 App Store 相关搜索结果中置顶推广您的 app。请参阅 Search Ads 进一步了解更多信息,并阅读开发者成功案例。

    评估成功与否

    利用 App Store Connect 中的“App 分析”,可以了解顾客是如何发现您的 app 并与其互动,还能按照您所拓展的地区来筛选这些数据。查看有多少用户在 App Store 上搜索或浏览时发现了您的 app,并衡量在查看后首次下载所占的百分比。了解用户是否继续使用您的 app,并查看安装数量、使用次数和处于活动状态的设备数量。将这些数据与您 app 更早进入的其他市场中的数据进行比较。您可能会发现,您需要调整您的营销策略或更好地本地化您的 app,以提高推广效果。在所选的市场上获得成功后,您可以识别新的市场,并添加其他的本地化内容,为更多的用户打造出色的用户体验。

    进一步了解 App 分析

    资源

    查找对 app 以及产品页面进行本地化所需的工具、文档和资源。

    进一步了解

Expanding Your App to New Markets

The App Store is available in 175 countries and regions and 40 languages to make it easy for users around the world to discover and download your app. Localizing your app helps make it relevant to a variety of cultures and languages, and provides an opportunity to grow your business. Learn how to prepare your app for a global audience and understand considerations for expanding into new markets.

    Structure Your App for Localization

    Internationalization, the process of structuring your app’s code and UI for localization, is a fundamental first step in building apps for a global audience. With Apple’s powerful tools and technologies, including Xcode 11, Apple APIs, Auto Layout, and Unicode support, it’s easy to prepare your apps to support multiple languages and regions, even before you know which languages you’d like to add.

    In Xcode, make sure your user-visible text and images are separate from your executable code. When you translate these elements into other languages, you can integrate the content back into your app as separate localized resource files stored within the app bundle. Images — including image sets, Apple Watch complications, Apple TV image stacks, Sprite Atlases, and symbol sets — can be localized directly in your Asset Catalog. You can also use localized SF system symbols and set the directionality for custom symbols — for example, for right-to-left languages like Arabic and Hebrew.

    Use Apple APIs to correctly express user-visible or dynamically-generated values, such as dates, lengths, weights, prices, and currency symbols, across different locales. Ensure your app accepts user-generated text in any language and in multiple languages at once, independent of the user interface language. This allows app content to appear in the user’s preferred language and format. You can also take advantage of Auto Layout to automatically adjust the dimensions and layouts of views, extensive Unicode support to work with text from any language, the powerful text handling technologies of Cocoa and Cocoa Touch to display, lay out, and edit text in many languages, and much more.

    With iOS 13 and iPadOS 13, users can select their preferred language for your app independent of their device language, making it easy for multilingual users to switch between languages in your app. On macOS Catalina, users can set the language of an app in the Language & Region section of System Preferences.

    Prepare for a Global Audience

    Investigate Market Factors

    Market-specific demographics, such as population, language, and purchasing power, can help you better understand areas that might have an affinity or need for your app. Every market has its own preferences for the types of apps or categories customers most enjoy. For example, games are popular worldwide, however strategy games may be more popular in a particular region. Consider selecting markets with similar attributes to those in which you have already established success, such as strong app downloads, sales, usage, or retention metrics, as this may make for easier growth. When selecting a market, assess how your app might fit in and how its value and functionality aligns with that market’s needs. You may even identify a need in the market that is not yet filled, allowing you to bring unique value to users with your app.

    Use App Analytics To Determine Potential Markets

    If you offer your app worldwide but haven’t localized for particular regions, you can look at key performance metrics, such as Product Page Views, App Units, Sales, and Active Devices, filtered by territory. This can help you determine if your app is attracting users in a particular territory that might benefit from localization. For example, if your app is primarily in English and you see lower than average retention or Sessions per Active Device in Germany, you might consider adding German language support. Keep in mind that some markets may have greater proficiency with your app’s primary language, while others may require more significant localization work. Usage data such as active devices, sessions, and retention include only users who have agreed to share their diagnostics and usage information with you.

    For more information on using App Analytics, see Gain Insights with App Analytics.

    Consider Local Culture and Customs

    While your app and product page should each provide a consistent experience across all markets, it’s sometimes valuable to refine certain elements for cultural relevance. For example, you might try incorporating market-specific content or cultural moments, such as special holiday content or regional art styles. You may want to consider any local policies and market regulations, as well as any political or religious sensitivities, to increase the likelihood that your app is well received.

    Localize Your App

    Translate User-Visible Content

    Use the Xcode Export For Localization feature to automatically extract all localizable content, including strings referenced from code, stringsdict files, and Interface Builder files, as well as any localized assets. This process shouldn’t require modifications to your source code, making it easy to work on translations in-house or with an external localization service. Be sure to also localize purpose strings for a consistent app experience, and consider localizing your privacy policy so that all users have a clear understanding of how their data may be handled.

    Apple Services. Use Apple APIs to automatically present localized buttons, payment sheets, errors, and more for Apple Pay, Apple Wallet, and Sign in with Apple.

    Audiovisual Media. You can also provide localized support for audiovisual media in your app using AVKit and AVFoundation. These frameworks provide built-in support for easily presenting subtitles and closed captions, and for selecting alternative audio and video tracks.

    Localization Services. If choosing an external localization service to help translate content, find out if they specialize in localizing for particular languages, cultures, or categories, and confirm the levels of quality assurance they provide. Providing the service with context about your app and content can help increase efficiency and minimize translation errors. Consider creating a guide with important details — for example, a playbook with character names and personalities, explanations of jokes or humor, a glossary of frequently used terms, and screenshots that show where the translations will be used. Avoid machine translation as your only translation method, since this can lead to inaccurate and low-quality translation because it does not account for context, cultural sensitivities or language nuances. For example, the “book” button in a hotel app might be incorrectly translated to be “novel” rather than “reserve”.

    Test Your Localization

    Configure test plans in Xcode to easily run tests with different settings and define your testing variants in one place. This helps flag any instances of clipping, truncation, layout overlapping, or issues with right-to-left formatting for the devices and languages you support. You can use the Localization Screenshots feature to generate localized screenshots from successful tests and export these screenshots for use in tutorials, marketing materials, or your App Store product page. Once your app is localized, use TestFlight to share your app with a group of users in the market to get feedback and gather opportunities for improvement.

    Prepare for Launch

    Localize Your Product Page

    Localize your App Store metadata, such as your app description, keywords, and screenshots, for each of the countries or territories in which you offer your app. You can also translate your app’s name and tailor your keywords to reflect the values of each market so your app might better resonate with the local audience.

    International Payment Methods and Pricing

    The App Store handles payment processing, so it’s easy to offer your content to users around the world. Users pay for your apps and in-app purchases with credit or debit cards, carrier billing, digital wallets, or App Store and iTunes gift cards, depending on regional availability.

    When pricing your apps and in-app purchases, you’ll choose a price tier in App Store Connect that contains prices already adjusted appropriately for the market in each country or region. For auto-renewable subscriptions, you can choose from 200 price points across all available currencies and price tiers to offer appropriate pricing for each location.

    Adapt Your Marketing Strategy

    When launching your app in a new market, adapt your marketing strategy to the region to help your audience easily learn about your app and the value it provides. Research which social networks or other channels are most popular with local audiences, as these may vary significantly across markets, and use them to spread the word about your app. Localize any materials you use in your marketing and user acquisition efforts, such as screenshots, banners, and advertisements.

    App Store Badges. Use the Download on the App Store badge in your communications as a clear call to action to download your app. Localized badges are available to let your international audience know that your app is tailored for them. Download badges from the App Store Marketing Guidelines.

    Search Ads. In addition, you can drive discovery of your app with Apple Search Ads, which lets you promote your app at the top of relevant App Store search results in more than 60 countries and regions. See Search Ads to learn more and read developer success stories.

    Evaluate Success

    Use App Analytics in App Store Connect to find out how customers discover and engage with your app, and filter this data by the territories in which you’ve expanded. See how many users discover your app while searching or browsing on the App Store and measure the percentage of views that result in a first-time download. Find out if users continue to use your app, and see the number of installations, sessions, and active devices. Compare this data to that of other markets where your app has been available longer. You may find you need to adjust your marketing strategy or better localize your app to improve performance. Once you’ve found success in your chosen markets, you can identify new markets and add additional localizations to provide a great user experience for even more customers.

    Learn more about App Analytics

    Resources

    Find tools, documentation, and resources you need to localize your app and product page.

    Learn more