Swift 4

一种强大但极易学习的编程语言。

Swift 是一种强大直观的编程语言,适用于 macOS、iOS、watchOS 和 tvOS。编写 Swift 代码是充满乐趣的互动过程,Swift 语法简洁,但表现力强,而且包含了开发者喜爱的现代功能。Swift 代码从设计上保证安全,同时还能开发出运行快如闪电的软件。

Swift 4 简介

以 Swift 3 的强大功能为基础,Swift 4 表现了出更卓越的健壮性和稳定性 —— 不但代码能与 Swift 3 兼容,也改善了标准资料库,添加了诸如智能键路径和序列化等功能;与此同时,它还可助您缩短构建时间并缩减 app 二进制文件的大小。

在 iPad 上学习 Swift

在 Swift Playgrounds 中,您创建的程序称为“playground”,会即时显现所写代码对应的结果。仅仅一行代码,就可以让奇迹发生。互动式课程可教授关键的编程概念,而额外的挑战和模板会激励您以新颖、有趣的方式探索代码,创造出独一无二的作品。甚至有些 playground 还可以通过蓝牙控制机器人、无人机和其他硬件配件。您可以与朋友分享自己的作品,也可以录制 playground 的实际应用视频并发到网上,一切都非常简单。

进一步了解 iPad 上的 Swift Playgrounds

开源

Swift 4 以开源形式在 Swift.org 上开发而成,其源代码、bug 跟踪器、邮件列表和常规开发版本将对所有人公开。在这个由众多开发者组成的广泛社区中,Apple 内部员工与成百上千位外部贡献者携手合作,让 Swift 愈加出色。Swift 已能够支持所有 Apple 平台和 Linux,社区成员正积极地努力将 Swift 移植到更多平台上。我们非常期待看到 Swift 以更多元的方式构建更安全、更快速的软件,同时也让编程变得更有趣。

要进一步了解 Swift 开源社区,请访问 Swift.org

源代码兼容模式

Swift 3 确立了编程语言应具有源代码级别的稳定性,现在,Swift 4 更进一步推出了源代码兼容功能。在 Swift 4 中,您不必修改自己的任何代码就能使用新版编译器。您可以先使用新的 Swift 4 编译器,然后按自己的进度每次一个模块地进行迁移,利用 Swift 4 的新功能。

您可以通过以下三种不同的模式使用新版 Swift 4 编译器:

  1. Swift 3 模式是适用于现有代码的默认模式,用于对使用 Swift 3 编译器构建的源代码进行构建。
  2. Swift 4 模式可让您使用 Swift 4 的新功能并得到性能优化,其中的某些功能可能需要迁移,不过这种迁移会比之前从 Swift 2.2 过渡到 Swift 3 更为容易。
  3. 混合模式让您能够利用二进制文件 (应由相同的编译器构建而成) 之间的互操作性。这种模式帮助开发者在创建的项目中混合使用 Swift 3 和 Swift 4 编写的软件包 (只要这些软件包都是使用 Swift 4 编译器构建的)。通过这种模式,开发者可以逐步地将代码中的特定部分迁移到 Swift 4。

Swift 4 中的新功能

  • 能够更快速、轻松地使用保持 Unicode 正确性的字符串,并增加了对创建、使用和管理子字符串的支持
  • 智能键路径为各种 Swift 类型提供类型安全、高效、可扩展的键值编码
  • 增强了用于创建和操纵 Dictionary 和 Set 类型的功能
  • 归档和序列化支持范围扩展至 struct 和 enum 类型,并在序列化为 JSON 和 plist 等外部格式时实现类型安全
  • 强制式独占访问内存

现代化

Swift 是编程语言的最新研究成果,并融合了构建 Apple 平台的数十年经验。借鉴于 Objective-C 的命名参数以简洁的语法表示,让您可以更轻松地阅读和维护以 Swift 编写的 API。推断类型让代码更为简洁且不易出错,而模块则消除了标头,改为提供名称空间。内存会自动管理,您甚至无需键入分号。正是这些富有前瞻性的概念,成就了这种易用又有趣的编程语言。

extension String {
						var banana : String {
							let shortName = self.dropFirst()
							return "\(self) \(self) Bo B\(shortName) Banana Fana Fo F\(shortName)"
						}
					}
					
					let bananaName = "Jimmy".banana		// "Jimmy Jimmy Bo Bimmy Banana Fana Fo Fimmy"

Swift 还有许多其他功能,可以让您的代码更富表现力:

  • 与函数指针统一的闭包
  • 元组和多值返回
  • 泛型
  • 对范围或集合进行快速、简洁的迭代
  • 支持方法、扩展和协议的结构
  • 函数式编程模式,例如映射和过滤
  • 使用 try/catch/throw 处理原生错误

Xcode 中的 Playground 和 REPL

与 iPad 上的 Swift Playgrounds 类似,Xcode 中的 Playground 让编写 Swift 代码变得非常简单有趣。键入一行代码,结果便会立即显现。然后,您可以从代码处快速查看结果,或将结果直接固定在这行代码下方。结果视图可以显示图形、结果列表或某个值随时间而变化的图形。您可以打开“时间轴助理”来观看复杂的视图演变和动画效果 (非常适合用于试验新的 UI 代码),或是在您编码时播放 SpriteKit 动画场景。在 playground 中优化好代码后,即可将代码移到您的项目中。

Read-Eval-Print-Loop (REPL)

Xcode 中的 LLDB 调试控制台内置了一个 Swift 语言互动式版本。您可以使用 Swift 语法来评估现有 app 并与它互动,也可以编写新的代码来查看它在脚本式环境中的运作情况。这项功能可从 Xcode 控制台内或“终端”中使用。

Package Manager

Swift Package Manager 在 Swift 3 中首次推出,它是一个用于构建 Swift 资料库和可执行文件的跨平台工具,使用它可轻松地创建和管理依赖项。Swift 4 为 Swift Package Manager 增加了新的工作流程特性和更完整的 API。现在,您可以更轻松地进行以下操作:在标记首个正式发行版本之前以串联方式开发多个软件包,同时处理多个软件包,以及在本地对不能控制的依赖项的源代码进行修改。新的 API 让软件包作者可以定义软件包能为客户提供哪些产品,以及自定源代码在磁盘上的组织方式。另外,用来创建软件包的整体 API 现在也更加简洁清楚,同时可保持与旧版软件包的源代码兼容性。

快速而强大

在最初设想时,我们就希望 Swift 实现快速运行的效果。利用出色的高性能 LLVM 编译器,Swift 代码会转换为经过优化的、可充分利用现代硬件的原生代码。此外,语法和标准资料库也进行了调整,使最浅显的编码方式也能有最佳表现。

Swift 是在 C 语言和 Objective-C 语言的基础上开发的全新编程语言。它包含诸如类型、流控制和运算符等底层基元。此外,它还提供面向对象的特性,例如类、协议和泛型,为 Cocoa 和 Cocoa Touch 开发者提供了他们所需的性能和功能。

从设计上确保安全

Swift 可避免全部类型的不安全代码。变量在使用前会始终先进行初始化,数组和整数会得到检查以防溢出,并且内存会自动管理。语法经过调整,让您可轻松定义目标意图。例如,只需三个字符的关键词就可定义变量 ( var ) 或常量 ( let )。

Swift 的另一项安全功能是,在默认情况下 Swift 对象永远不会是 nil。实际上,Swift 编译器会在您尝试创建或使用 nil 对象时显示编译时错误,阻止您继续操作。这使得代码编写变得更简洁、更安全,并且可以防止 app 中出现大规模的运行时崩溃。但是,在某些情况下,运用 nil 是有效且适当的。针对这类情况,Swift 提供了一项创新功能,称为“可选类型”。可选类型可以包含 nil,但是 Swift 语法强制要求您利用 ? 语法来安全地处理 nil,该语法向编译器指示您理解这个行为并将安全地处理它。

Objective-C 互操作性

您可以立即使用 Swift 创建全新的 app,或开始使用 Swift 代码在您的 app 中实施新的特性和功能。Swift 代码可以与您现有的 Objective-C 文件在同一个项目中共存,并可完全访问 Objective-C API,因此您可以轻松地采用这些文件。

要开始使用 Swift,请下载 Xcode 并按照“资源”标签页上提供的教程操作。

Swift 4

The powerful programming language that is also easy to learn.

Swift is a powerful and intuitive programming language for macOS, iOS, watchOS and tvOS. Writing Swift code is interactive and fun, the syntax is concise yet expressive, and Swift includes modern features developers love. Swift code is safe by design, yet also produces software that runs lightning-fast.

Introducing Swift 4

Swift 4 builds on the strengths of Swift 3, delivering greater robustness and stability, providing source code compatibility with Swift 3, making improvements to the standard library, and adding features like smart key paths and serialization, all while shortening build times and reducing the size of app binaries.

Learn Swift on iPad

In Swift Playgrounds you create small programs called “playgrounds” that instantly show the results of the code that you write. A single line of code can make amazing things happen. Interactive lessons teach key coding concepts, and additional challenges and templates encourage you to explore code in exciting new ways and to create something completely unique. There are even playgrounds that use Bluetooth to control robots, drones, and other hardware accessories. It’s easy to share your creations with friends, or record and post videos of your playgrounds in action.

Learn about Swift Playgrounds for iPad

Open Source

Swift 4 was developed in the open at Swift.org, with source code, a bug tracker, mailing lists, and regular development builds available for everyone. This broad community of developers, both inside Apple as well as hundreds of outside contributors, work together to make Swift even more amazing. Swift already supports all Apple platforms as well as Linux, with community members actively working to port to even more platforms. We're excited to see more ways in which Swift makes software safer and faster, while also making programming more fun.

To learn more about the open source Swift community, visit Swift.org

Source Compatibility Modes

Swift 3 set up the language for source-level stability and now Swift 4 delivers source compatibility as a feature moving forward. With Swift 4, you don’t have to modify any of your code to use the new version of the compiler. Instead you can start using the new Swift 4 compiler and migrate at your own pace, taking advantage of new Swift 4 features, one module at a time.

You can use the new Swift 4 compiler with three different modes:

  1. Swift 3 mode is the default for existing code and will build source code that built with the Swift 3 compiler
  2. Swift 4 mode enables you to use new features and performance optimizations of Swift 4, some of which may require migration, making it easier to migrate than the previous transition from Swift 2.2 to Swift 3.
  3. Mixed mode allows you to take advantage of interoperability between binaries built with the same compiler. This helps developers who have projects that mix packages written with Swift 3 with packages written with Swift 4, as long as all packages are built using the Swift 4 compiler. This allows developers to gradually migrate specific portions of their code to Swift 4 over time.

New Features in Swift 4

  • Faster, easier to use Strings that retain Unicode correctness and add support for creating, using and managing substrings
  • Smart key paths for type-safe, efficient, extensible key value coding for Swift types
  • Enhancements to creating and manipulating Dictionary and Set types
  • Extends support of archival and serialization to struct and enum types and enables type-safety for serializing to external formats such as JSON and plist
  • Enforced exclusive access to memory

Modern

Swift is the result of the latest research on programming languages, combined with decades of experience building Apple platforms. Named parameters brought forward from Objective-C are expressed in a clean syntax that makes APIs in Swift even easier to read and maintain. Inferred types make code cleaner and less prone to mistakes, while modules eliminate headers and provide namespaces. Memory is managed automatically, and you don’t even need to type semi-colons. These forward-thinking concepts result in a language that is easy and fun to use.

extension String {
	var banana : String {
		let shortName = self.dropFirst()
		return "\(self) \(self) Bo B\(shortName) Banana Fana Fo F\(shortName)"
	}
}

let bananaName = "Jimmy".banana		// "Jimmy Jimmy Bo Bimmy Banana Fana Fo Fimmy"

Swift has many other features to make your code more expressive:

  • Closures unified with function pointers
  • Tuples and multiple return values
  • Generics
  • Fast and concise iteration over a range or collection
  • Structs that support methods, extensions, and protocols
  • Functional programming patterns, e.g., map and filter
  • Native error handling using try / catch / throw

Playgrounds and REPL in Xcode

Much like Swift Playgrounds for iPad, playgrounds in Xcode make writing Swift code incredibly simple and fun. Type a line of code and the result appears immediately. You can then Quick Look the result from the side of your code, or pin that result directly below. The result view can display graphics, lists of results, or graphs of a value over time. You can open the Timeline Assistant to watch a complex view evolve and animate, great for experimenting with new UI code, or to play an animated SpriteKit scene as you code it. When you’ve perfected your code in the playground, simply move that code into your project.

Read-Eval-Print-Loop (REPL)

The LLDB debugging console in Xcode includes an interactive version of the Swift language built right in. Use Swift syntax to evaluate and interact with your running app, or write new code to see how it works in a script-like environment. Available from within the Xcode console or in Terminal.

Package Manager

Introduced in Swift 3, Swift Package Manager is a cross-platform tool for building Swift libraries and executables, making it easy to create and manage dependencies. Swift 4 adds new workflow features and a more complete API for the Swift Package Manager. It’s now easier to develop multiple packages in tandem before tagging your first official release, to work on a branch of multiple packages together, and to make local changes to the source code of a dependency you don't control. New API lets package authors define which products their packages make available to clients, and customize how their sources are organized on disk. And the overall API used to create a package is now cleaner and clearer, while retaining source-compatibility with older packages.

Fast and Powerful

From its earliest conception, Swift was built to be fast. Using the incredibly high-performance LLVM compiler, Swift code is transformed into optimized native code that gets the most out of modern hardware. The syntax and standard library have also been tuned to make the most obvious way to write your code also perform the best.

Swift is a successor to both the C and Objective-C languages. It includes low-level primitives such as types, flow control, and operators. It also provides object-oriented features such as classes, protocols, and generics, giving Cocoa and Cocoa Touch developers the performance and power they demand.

Designed for Safety

Swift eliminates entire classes of unsafe code. Variables are always initialized before use, arrays and integers are checked for overflow, and memory is managed automatically. Syntax is tuned to make it easy to define your intent — for example, simple three-character keywords define a variable ( var ) or constant ( let ).

Another safety feature is that by default Swift objects can never be nil. In fact, the Swift compiler will stop you from trying to make or use a nil object with a compile-time error. This makes writing code much cleaner and safer, and prevents a huge category of runtime crashes in your apps. However, there are cases where nil is valid and appropriate. For these situations Swift has an innovative feature known as optionals. An optional may contain nil, but Swift syntax forces you to safely deal with it using the ? syntax to indicate to the compiler you understand the behavior and will handle it safely.

Objective-C Interoperability

You can create an entirely new application with Swift today, or begin using Swift code to implement new features and functionality in your app. Swift code co-exists along side your existing Objective-C files in the same project, with full access to your Objective-C API, making it easy to adopt.

To get started with Swift, download Xcode and follow the tutorials available on the Resources tab.