Device to device migration with DEP devices not working

Dear Apple developer community,

i am trying to successfully use the device to device migration feature which was introduced in iOS 12.4

I am a developer for a mobile client management solution and we have the problem that we cannot use this feature when DEP devices are involed. As long as we use devices which are not included in the DEP program, we can directly migrate our data from one device to another.

It doesn't matter if the source and target devices are supervised or not. (both devices iOS 13.1)

We do not use the DEP profile setting "DeviceToDeviceMigration" to skip this setup step.

We do not use the configuration profile restriction "allowProximitySetupToNewDevice" (default true)

So in theory, there should be no problem using this feature.

When i leave the DEP program with the target device, I can again use the feature.

Is there anything we are missing or is this a bug in iOS 13.1?

Greetings,

Mike

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of MikeBaramundi Down vote post of MikeBaramundi
8.3k views
  • Anyone found a way to resolve this?

• Apple's support article "Use Quick Start to transfer data to a new iPhone or iPad" has this verbiage at the bottom:

"If your new device is enrolled in Apple School Manager or Apple Business Manager, you can't use Quick Start to transfer data from your current device."

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210216

The article was recently updated, so appears iOS 16 has the same limitation.

Add a Comment

Replies

I am experiencing the same issue, no advice from this from Apple Enterprise support.

I have tried a mix of DEP profiles with some limited "skip" functions enabled and also a blank profile to no avail.

In the first, the setup of the iPhone is very quick and there is no data transfer

In the second, the setup gets stuck at "Setting up your Apple ID" and stays like that for hours!

This is really disappointing