How to open a window in SwiftUI?

Its great to have WindowGroup and Scenes - but how do we open one of these windows on macOS programatically or from a menu item?

How do we decide what windows open on launch?

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of lupinglade Down vote post of lupinglade
15k views

Replies

I'm new to macOS development and I also have this question...
Are you able to get more than one window type to show up? From what I'm seeing this doesn't appear to support more than one Scene (aside from Settings). But there is "id" for the WindowGroup so that suggests it should be possible.
You can also make a group of Scenes, but only the first one is displayed. I’d really like on iOS to transition from one scene to another (specifically a WindowGroup to a DocumentGroup) and on macOS to have the second scene to open in a new window. Why allow more than one scene per app if you can’t show one from a button click just like with Settings()?
To my knowledge AppDelegate is the only way for now, place it in you App file as a var like so

Code Block swift
    @NSApplicationDelegateAdaptor(AppDelegate.self) var appDelegate
    var body: some Scene {
        Settings {
        }
}

Then have your window class

Code Block swift
class AppWindow: NSWindow {
    init() {
        super.init(contentRect: NSRect(x: 0, y: 0, width: 480, height: 300), styleMask: [.titled, .closable, .miniaturizable, .resizable, .fullSizeContentView], backing: .buffered, defer: false)
        makeKeyAndOrderFront(nil)
        isReleasedWhenClosed = false
        styleMask.insert(NSWindow.StyleMask.fullSizeContentView)
        title = "title placeholder"
        contentView = NSHostingView(rootView: ContentView())
    }
}

I'm guessing (hoping) this is coming in the next seed.
Really hoping this makes it into release!
Any news on this? Code like the following doesn't seem to work for me. (Xcode 12.2 beta, Big Sur beta).

Code Block swift
        WindowGroup {