Access depth data purely from lidar

Greetings everyone,

I am a new developer and I try to use the lidar of ipad pro for potential engineering applications. It seems the new feature 'depth map' is produced with the info both from lidar and camera. Is there a way that I can access to the depth datapoints which are purely detected by the lidar? My application scenario is too dark that the camera can not be used, so I can only relay on lidar. Thank you in advance!

Replies

Same question here. I havent find anything yet.
Hello,

As you have noted, and as stated in Explore ARKit 4, "The colored RGB image from the wide-angle camera and the depth ratings from the LiDAR scanner are fused together using advanced machine learning algorithms to create a dense depth map that is exposed through the API."

There is no API which offers access to the "depth ratings from the LiDAR scanner" directly. If you would like such an API, you should file an enhancement request using Feedback Assistant.

This app seems to be able to get depth points from LiDAR. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id1524700432 How to access it ?

• There is no api available that offers access to “raw” LiDAR data, the app you have linked to is likely making use of the depth map from the sceneDepth api, which is influenced by the LiDAR data, but also utilizes other information. I also recommend that you take a look at this developer sample which you may find useful as a demonstration of the sceneDepth api: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/arkit/environmental_analysis/displaying_a_point_cloud_using_scene_depth

Add a Comment

Hi I successfully saved the depth map to 32-bit binary file. Then I can read the file and convert it to png using python opencv.

func convertDepthData(depthMap: CVPixelBuffer) -> [[Float32]] {
        let width = CVPixelBufferGetWidth(depthMap)
        let height = CVPixelBufferGetHeight(depthMap)
        var convertedDepthMap: [[Float32]] = Array(