MenuItem scripting

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to mac's and AppleScript so I apologise in advance for the level of questioning/quality of code.

I've been trying to create an applescript to go through every menuitem and list out the keyboard shortcuts. I've created a script to add keyboard shortcuts, but have only done so as global shortcuts. Some of them don't work in different apps so I'm trying to create a verbose list that has every menuitem for every application so I can populate my script, then eventually have application specific shortcuts for every menuitem that has a shortcut currently.

Below I'm trying to generate that list of current shortcuts but I'm stuck on the syntax of getting the properties of attributes of items and displaying them.

The below is where I have got to:

set allMenus to {}
set everything to {}
set onlyEnabled to {}

tell application "System Events" to tell process appName
    set allMenus to name of every menu of menu bar 1
end tell

global testCounter
global currentCounter
set testCounter to 14
set currentCounter to 0

repeat with menuName in allMenus
    set the end of everything to strings of getAppMenuItems(appName, menuName, onlyEnabled)
    if currentCounter > testCounter then
        log "EXIT REPEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
        exit repeat
    end if
end repeat

on getAppMenuItems(appProcess, appMenus, enabledItems)
    tell application "System Events" to tell process appProcess

# Get all menu items
        set theItems to every menu item of menu appMenus of menu bar 1

log "BREAKAKKKKKKBREAKKKKKK"
        set appMenuName to name of menu appMenus of menu bar 1
        --log appname

repeat with theMenuItem in theItems

set currentCounter to currentCounter + 1
            if currentCounter > testCounter then
                exit repeat
            end if

set itemAttrib to get every attribute of theMenuItem

repeat with aAttrib in itemAttrib  
                if the name of the aAttrib is "AXMenuItemCmdChar" then