provide some samples using content filters in objective c or c++ to register network extensions, to catch all non-browser network operations

HI, I am new to network extensions and content filters.

In my MacBook Pro, I have one "c++ application in user space, one kernel module and IOKit interface between them to exchange messages. I have some hook functions for network operations APIs like socket(), connect(). If any network operation performs, I catch them in hook functions and I will perform policy evaluations on them in kernel and will perform my own actions.

Now I want to remove hook functions in kernel and I want to catch network operations using content filters in my c++ application at userspace. Once I catch network operations using content filter, I want to evaluate my own polices on them and will perform my own actions based on the result.

I have done some R&D about this but not found samples on content filters in objective-c or c++ except simplefirewall example in swift language.

Anyone pls provide some samples in objective c or c++ to register network extensions, to catch all non-browser network operations, to extract local & remote address (port & ip) details.

So that I can refer the samples to get network operation details at user space in my c++ application, I will send those details to kernel using IOKit to evaluate my own rules and perform my own actions.

Thanks.

Replies

not found samples on content filters in objective-c or c plus plus except simplefirewall example in swift language.

Anyone pls provide some samples in objective c or c plus plus to register network extensions, to catch all non-browser network operations,

Right, the Simple Firewall example is written in Swift, however if you run into any issues with pieces of code from that example that you need to convert to Objective-C, just let me know and I can attempt to help out.