Can't find Single View Application

Hi,

I just started learning Swift for school projects, I installed XCode 12 on the App Store but now on the tutorials I'm trying to follow they tell me to create a "Single View Application" but on the different templates I have there is no Single View Application.

I tried to chose other templates but when I do that I don't have the same files as the one in the tutorial.

I've tried to look on Internet about single view application for XCode 12 and Swift 5 but didn't find anything.

How can I create a Single View Application with this configuration ?
Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of LucasFab Down vote post of LucasFab
13k views
  • you can create it easily , just check this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yz8q6JrOPXA

• Hi , Please while creating a new project choose IOS on the top of the dialog , instead of Multiplatform . This is not a problem from Xcode just choose the correct tab . Thanks

Add a Comment

Replies

You should better find an up-to-date tutorial written for Xcode 12.

With choosing iOS > App, you can get a project template similar to Single View App.

I don't have the same files as the one in the tutorial.

If you are using an old tutorial written for older Xcode, you would never get exactly the same files with Xcode 12.

What files are missing? If you choose the right options in new project sheet, you will get practically similar project to Single View app.

If practically is not what you want, you may need an old Xcode for which your tutorial is written.
I chose iOS and then App but I don't have the files like "AppDelegate.swift" or "ViewControler.swift"

The tutorial I'm trying to follow is the one on developer.apple (https://developer.apple.com/library/archive/referencelibrary/GettingStarted/DevelopiOSAppsSwift/BuildABasicUI.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP40015214-CH5-SW1)

If you have any idea of a better tutorial for beginner that I should follow I'd like to have the name