I can't install TensorFlow-macos and TensorFlow-metal

Dear All,

I am a Data Scientist and waiting for GPU accelerating for years, and I am thrilled while Apple announced it will come at MacOS 12.

linkText

And so, I updated my OS to Monterey Beta and tried to install TensorFlow-Metal a few days ago. However, all installing instruction commands not work at all.

After that, I looked into pypi.org and found out there are whl files for TensorFlow-macos and TensorFlow-metal. So, I tried to pip install both whl files. Yet, noting work again.

Here is the screenshot for installing.

I would very much appreciate if you can help me to solve this issue.

Sincerely,

• hey hawkiyc, if you resolve the issue, please share with me how. cuz i am facing that issue rn.

Add a Comment

Accepted Reply

I was able to install tensorflow-macos and tensrflow-metal on intel based iMac

$ python3 -m venv tensorflow-metal-test
$ source tensorflow-metal-test/bin/activate
$ cd tensorflow-metal-test/
$ python -m pip install -U pip
$ pip install tensorflow-macos
$ pip install tensorflow-metal

and my version

$ python -V
Python 3.8.2
$ pip -V
pip 21.1.2 from /Us...
$ pip list
Package                 Version
----------------------- -------------------
absl-py                 0.13.0
astunparse              1.6.3
cachetools              4.2.2
certifi                 2021.5.30
chardet                 4.0.0
flatbuffers             1.12
gast                    0.4.0
google-auth             1.32.0
google-auth-oauthlib    0.4.4
google-pasta            0.2.0
grpcio                  1.34.1
h5py                    3.1.0
idna                    2.10
keras-nightly           2.5.0.dev2021032900
Keras-Preprocessing     1.1.2
Markdown                3.3.4
numpy                   1.19.5
oauthlib                3.1.1
opt-einsum              3.3.0
pip                     21.1.2
protobuf                3.17.3
pyasn1                  0.4.8
pyasn1-modules          0.2.8
requests                2.25.1