Using the UIPasteControl

Hello 👋🏽

I am a new iOS developer and I am having a hard time understanding the behavior of the new UIPasteControl to avoid showing the system prompt.

Does anyone has any example code I could look at to understand the behavior. Idk how to set the target of the button to the general pasteboard.

also I am using objective-c . thanks cristian

• Ok so after reading a bit more I understood that the target has to be a UIResponder which could be a UIViewController.

I am running into another issue now that the button is disabled. It’s grayed out for some reason. So when I press on it, no events are passed to the target. Any ideas why it is disabled?

Add a Comment

Replies

Thanks for interacting with my baby!

To enable UIPasteControl, its target needs to be set to an object that conforms to UIPasteConfigurationSupporting, so typically a UIResponder like UIViewController or UIView. Then you would ensure the object's pasteConfiguration is set to allow the types you want to paste e.g.

self.pasteConfiguration = [[UIPasteConfiguration alloc] initWithTypeIdentifiersForAcceptingClass:[UIImage class]];

(Alternatively, you can override canPasteItemProviders: if that suits your design better.)

Finally, there must be content on the pasteboard compatible with these type identifiers.

The big win here is you don't have to write special code to check whether the pasteboard has compatible types and manually enable/disable the control. You just have to set it up correctly as above.

glow

Add a Comment

Hello,

I like this new UIPasteControl a lot, however, I've noticed that it can often stay "active" even though there is nothing that can be pasted regardless of the target ... I'm not sure if this is a bigger Apple bug but I get the following error in the override func paste(itemProviders: [NSItemProvider]):