Input with Metal-CPP, overriding MTK::View

Hi,

I am new to Metal and macOS development, and trying to learn Metal with the CPP wrapper for a toy rendering engine. I am mostly following the "Learn Metal with C++" sample code.

I am trying to read mouse and keyboard input. It seems like the Objective-C or Swift wrappers allow you to override your own MTK::View class, and then override the respective keyDown(), keyUp() methods.

However, when looking at the CPP wrapper, MTK::View doesn't have any virtual functions to override.

How can I read mouse and keyboard inputs in my application? Hopefully without having an Objective-C bridge.

Thank you, Robin

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of robinleman Down vote post of robinleman
2.5k views

Replies

Hi robinleman,

There are two approaches you can take to accomplish this.

1. In a typical UI application, you would have a view controller or a swift UI view that would be able to capture the keyboard and mouse input via subclassing, and then forward that to the rest of your application components.

2. Another approach is to use the GameController framework, which allows you to install a callback for mouse, keyboard, and even gamepad events.

Given these two options, the option more in line with the "Learn Metal with C++" sample code I would recommend is to use the GameController framework. This will prevent you from needing to subclass MTK::View.

As you mention, you will have to leverage Objective-C in this case. If you prefer to keep your C++ and Objective-C code separate and modular, you can create a separate Objective-C file that installs the callbacks for the input events, and have these call into a C++ lambda. You could even have the Objective-C code expose a C or C++ interface to the rest of your program. This approach would allow you to seamlessly register for and handle events from the C++ side.