"Use mobile data" setting while connected to Wi-Fi with no internet

Hello. I'm struggling with an issue and I couldn't find any documentation regarding it.

My case: I'm connected through Wi-Fi to a camera that provides me video feed. Meanwhile, my app is trying to send relevant information about images to the API.

Issue: Because Wi-Fi (my camera) is not connected to the internet, I'm getting that popup from the system:  "The Wi-Fi Network does not appear to be connected to the internet. Do you want to temporarily use mobile data? Options: Use mobile data | Keep Trying Wi-Fi".

If I press Keep trying Wi-Fi, I'm never gonna see that system pop up again.

WHAT setting is this popup changing and how can I reset it in order to get that pop-up again? I need the user to always choose the USE MOBILE DATA option every time, but IF by mistake he chooses to Keep Trying Wi-Fi, I can't anymore change that setting.

How can I reset that setting?

Answered by Systems Engineer in 744154022

how can I reset it in order to get that pop-up again?

Do you see this pop-up if you disassociate your NEHotspotConfiguration by removing the configuration?

Regarding:

How can I reset that setting?

There is no Developer level API that I am aware of to reset this. Often in this situation like this providing information to the user about the desired workflow helps to avoid any potential mis-steps they may fall into.

Accepted Answer

how can I reset it in order to get that pop-up again?

Do you see this pop-up if you disassociate your NEHotspotConfiguration by removing the configuration?

Regarding:

How can I reset that setting?

There is no Developer level API that I am aware of to reset this. Often in this situation like this providing information to the user about the desired workflow helps to avoid any potential mis-steps they may fall into.

@meaton thank you very much for your answer.

Do you see this pop-up if you disassociate your NEHotspotConfiguration by removing the configuration?

I've tried your suggestion and yes, I'm able to see that pop-up again after I remove the configuration and apply it again on the same Wi-Fi.

There is no Developer level API that I am aware of to reset this. Often in this situation like this providing information to the user about the desired workflow helps to avoid any potential mis-steps they may fall into.

It would be nice to have at least one setting value on the Network API in order to check this user option.

Thanks again.