MacBook Pro M2 Max: 32GB vs 64GB RAM for Machine Learning and Longevity

Hi everyone,

I'm a Machine Learning Engineer, and I'm planning to buy the MacBook Pro M2 Max with a 38-core GPU variant. I'm uncertain about whether to choose the 32GB RAM or 64GB RAM option. Based on my research and use case, it seems that 32GB should be sufficient for most tasks, including the 4K video rendering I occasionally do. However, I'm concerned about the longevity of the device, as I'd like to keep the MacBook up-to-date for at least five years.

Additionally, considering the 38-core GPU, I wonder if 32GB of unified memory might be insufficient, particularly when I need to train Machine Learning models or run docker or even kubernetes cluster.

I don't have any budget constraints, as the additional $400 cost isn't an issue, but I want to make a wise decision. I would appreciate any advice on this matter. Thanks in advance!

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of Aditya-ai Down vote post of Aditya-ai
4.0k views

Replies

Don’t expect that your Mac with M2 will make you able to train a decent model. MPS on PyTorch is handicapped, you need cuda to play around some models.

• So do you recommend I stay with the 32gb unified memory and that should be enough for good long five years with the usecase? Offcourse as a ML engineer I have access to GPU clusters and AWS Cloud Compute, however, as I mentioned I would like to train ML models sometimes and run Docker, K8S, etc. on it.

Also the benchmarks shown here look compelling: https://youtu.be/u9ECps9b664

Add a Comment