Researcher in Spatial Computing / HCI Looking to Use Enterprise APIs on Vision Pro for HCI Research-Only.

I am a spatial computing / XR and Human-Computer Interaction researcher from a private university. I am interested in using the vision pro's newly-exposed camera access to develop and evaluate new algorithms for computational perception. ( WWDC session here: https://developer.apple.com/wwdc24/10139 )

I understand this is targeted at large enterprises, but I would like to know if by some means as a researcher affiliated with an educational institution I could develop private for-development-only applications for the vision pro with the enterprise APIs enabled. The intent is not to publish apps, but rather to contribute to the research community through R&D.

However, to my knowledge, I would be ineligible as a normal "business" as I do not employee 100+ employees. I am an independent researcher, and on occasion, I collaborate within small research groups within my university that focus on this kind of camera-based perception algorithm development.

Could someone from Apple comment?

Thank you.

Answered by DTS Engineer in 790317022

Hi, That is the untitled/undecorated link shown as Development Only for the request. AFAIK it's active and viable for the foreseeable future.

If you're unable to access that link while logged in using a paid individual developer account then it may indeed require a business account so I'm looking into that now.

Hello, where did you read that it's exclusive to Apple Developer Enterprise Program members, this page suggests Enterprise API is available to regular Apple Developer Program users too.

https://developer.apple.com/documentation/visionOS/building-spatial-experiences-for-business-apps-with-enterprise-apis

@sanercakir I clicked the developer only request button and it says I am not allowed to view the page. But I am not the account holder. I assumed that I needed to be an enterprise with 100+ employees and so on.