Bonjour for discovering a specific device's ip

Hi, I'm new to swift programming and right now writing an app for esp8266-controlled lamp device. My lamp is broadcasting it's own IP through bonjour. So all I want is to discover any lamps in my network (http.tcp) and to read name and value. Is there any example of such implementation? All I found so far is old or a lit bit complicated for such simple question. Thanks in advance!

Accepted Reply

Just adding .local to the host name solved the problem.

No it doesn’t. The Bonjour service name and the local DNS name do not need to be related and, even when they are, it’s common for them to be significantly different. For some fun examples of this, see this post.

The only way to get the DNS name of a service is to resolve it.

But it still freezing my app just after service found

Hmmm, I can’t spot the error. Rather than spend time debugging that I created a small test program that illustrates one way to do this. If you paste the code below into a new command-line tool project, it should be able to resolve any service you give it.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Code Block
import Foundation
final class BonjourResolver: NSObject, NetServiceDelegate {
typealias CompletionHandler = (Result<(String, Int), Error>) -> Void
@discardableResult
static func resolve(service: NetService, completionHandler: @escaping CompletionHandler) -> BonjourResolver {
precondition(Thread.isMainThread)
let resolver = BonjourResolver(service: service, completionHandler: completionHandler)
resolver.start()
return resolver
}
private init(service: NetService, completionHandler: @escaping CompletionHandler) {
// We want our own copy of the service because we’re going to set a
// delegate on it but `NetService` does not conform to `NSCopying` so
// instead we create a copy by copying each property.