Assistant not opening the correct swift file

I am trying to open the swift file so that I can Ctrl + Drag from the image cell into the swift file that I generated.
The file was generated by New File -> Cocao Touch class, previously.
With the main.storyboard open and then choosing Assistant, I get the ViewController.h for the scene I am in and not the ExploreCell.swift file that I have just generated.
The book I am following as I am a beginner, says that I should set the file as automatic but I can't seem to be able to do that.
What am I doing wrong?

Accepted Reply

For the record I have sorted this out!
All you need to do is goto File menu/New/Editor.
I think everybody above was trying to make the problem too complicated, whereas the solution was so simple if you are an expert you do not think of the simplest solution, but overkill the question when it is staring you in the face.

Replies

If you have file editor on the left and storyboard on the right:
  • select the VC tou want in IB

• click on the 3rd icon at top (the one with 4 small squares)

• In the popup menu, on Automatic line, you have your VC

• in Top level objects, you have the VC and another .h file

If you have only storyboard opened:
  • select the VC in IB

• Assistant command should open the file.swift

• if not, click on the link icon (2 small intertwined circles) which should probably say Top level objects

• Then select Automatic in the popup menu.

I know how to open the file in IB that is not the problem!
By using the method you describe I now open the ExploreViewController.swift, but that is not the file I need to open.
In the book it says I need to open the ExploreCell.swift.
As I mentioned previously the ExploreCell.swift was created by creating a folder called View, as a sub folder of Explore and then creating a new Cocoa Touch file called ExploreCell.swift.
What it is actually doing is opening the top level view controller in the ExploreViewController scene.