How to get a 2D floor plan with dimensions from RoomPlan

I am in need to create a 2D floor plan with the dimensions mentioned, from the generated 3D result of RoomPlan. Is there a way to create it in a little easy-to-understand manner? Or will it require manual elaborate coding?

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of bishusikder Down vote post of bishusikder
8.9k views

Replies

I've been tinkering with it too. I'm a newbie and I can get it to scan and stop but I can't figure out how to export to floor plan eerier. If you figure let me know !

I also investigate this. And I have an idea, we have simd_float4x4 matrix, and we can get coordinate our walls, but it will be just point, need to draw a line from this and other points, and find edges, just ignore Y axis, but I don't understand in which direction need to draw a line. Probably I don't know how works simd_float4x4 matrix, and how need to decode the value. Do you have some ideas?

Would love to collaborate on this. I too think that going to a simple 2D plan will be important. Nate

I've found a solution for this. As suggested, the simd_float4x4 matrix is the key to the solution here. Using SpriteKit I've created my 2D map using RoomPlan data.

To start with, I've created a couple of extensions for simd_float4x4. These extract the data we need from the metrix so it's easier to work with:

extension simd_float4x4 {
    var eulerAngles: simd_float3 {
        simd_float3(
            x: asin(-self[2][1]),
            y: atan2(self[2][0], self[2][2]),
            z: atan2(self[0][1], self[1][1])
        )
    }

var position: simd_float3 {
        simd_float3(x: self.columns.3.x,
                    y: self.columns.3.y,
                    z: self.columns.3.z
        )
    }

var positionVector: SCNVector3 {
        SCNVector3(x: self.columns.3.x,
                   y: self.columns.3.y,
                   z: self.columns.3.z
        )
    }
}