VPN Client and Extension Issue

I'm running into a strange issue that I can't figure out... I'm a bit new to macOS so I'm trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'm using an MDM (Microsoft Intune) to install the GlobalProtect VPN 6.2 client to connect to a corporate network. Here's the situation:

• macOS 12.6.7 Monterey
  • Managed w/ Intune and supervised through ABM
  • GlobalProtect 6.2 VPN client
  • System Extension installs successfully
  • Team ID + SysEx Type are permitted via MDM and appear to be OK

When I go to perform the installation, it appears to succeed, and the GP system extension appears to install successfully. When issuing the "systemextensionsctl list" command, the GP system extension shows [activated enabled]. When I try to connect to the VPN gateway, in the VPN client logs I see: "Error (604): failed to send ipc data: system ext not connected."

During the installation of the VPN client, I see the following in the Console log when streaming the console logs from taskgated-helper: com.paloaltonetworks.GlobalProtect.client: Unsatisfied entitlements: com.apple.security.application-groups Disallowing: com.paloaltonetworks.GlobalProtect.client The subsystem for both is "com.apple.ManagedClient"

Any ideas? I'm pretty stuck.

Replies

Im not sure if you're doing the development here on the product or if you are setting up the MDM environment and testing out the installation of the product? However, regarding this error:

When I try to connect to the VPN gateway, in the VPN client logs I see: "Error (604): failed to send ipc data: system ext not connected."

Console log when streaming the console logs from taskgated-helper: com.paloaltonetworks.GlobalProtect.client: Unsatisfied entitlements: com.apple.security.application-groups Disallowing: com.paloaltonetworks.GlobalProtect.client

A couple of things could be happening here: