Example "com.example.apple-samplecode.dext-to-user-client" grief

I am new to macOS programming. I am trying to run an example from Apple that installs a "NullDriver" and then accesses it from a client CPP app (example available on line, driver kit, "com.example.apple-samplecode.dext-to-user-client)

I seem to be able to install the the DEXT correctly; I can see the system extension and the IOUserService. When I run the CPP client access program auto signed by Xcode, the app crashes with "CODESIGNING 1 Taskgated Invalid Signature". If I sign the app with "Sign to Run Locally", the app runs but is unable to connect to the IOUserService.

This is being run on Sonoma Beta 5 with a newly paid membership.

I am willing to attach whatever files are required but I wonder whether others have had the same code signing problem. My apology if I did not read a post with the answer I hope to find.

Gene

I presume you’re working from the Communicating Between a DriverKit Extension and a Client App sample code. If so, you’ll note that CppUserClient target is actually an app target. That’s because:

• Accessing a DriverKit user client requires a restricted entitlement, com.apple.developer.driverkit.userclient-access.

• That entitlement must be authorised by a provisioning profile.

• The only way to include a profile with your executable is to embed the executable in an app-like wrapper.

Note For more info about what provisioning profiles do, see TN3125 Inside Code Signing: Provisioning Profiles.

The crash you’re seeing is most likely caused by an unauthorised entitlement, that is, your app is claiming the com.apple.developer.driverkit.userclient-access but it’s not actually authorised by your profile. For more on this, see Resolving Code Signing Crashes on Launch.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@" + "apple.com"

Thanks for the help.