AVCam Example: Can I use a Actor instead of a DispatchQueue for capture session activity?

I've been studying the AVCam example and notice that everything pertaining to state transitions for the capture session is performed on a dedicated DispatchQueue. My question is this: Can I use an actor instead?

Answered by DTS Engineer in 788923022
Your answer would seem to imply that this is not possible

It depends on the nature of the delegate callbacks. If the delegate callbacks are all notifications, you can get away with just an actor. OTOH, if a delegate callback requires you to return a value, and that value depend on the state of your actor, then an actor that wraps a Dispatch queue is definitely the best option.

I’m not an expert on AVFoundation, so I’m going to cons up a standalone example. Imagine you have this old school type that uses Dispatch queues and delegates:

class Varnisher {

init(queue: DispatchSerialQueue) {
        self.queue = queue
    }

let queue: DispatchSerialQueue

weak var delegate: Delegate?

protocol Delegate: AnyObject {
        func varnisherShouldUseGloss(_ varnisher: Varnisher) -> Bool
    }

… the actual implementation …
}

It guarantees that all the delegate methods will be run on queue. Now let’s say you want to wrangle this in an actor. Here’s how to do that:

actor VarnishCentral: Varnisher.Delegate {

init() {
        let queue = DispatchSerialQueue(label: "VarnishCentral.queue")
        self.queue = queue
        self.varnisher = Varnisher(queue: queue)
        self.useGlossForNextWaffle = true

self.varnisher.delegate = self
    }

private let queue: DispatchSerialQueue
    private let varnisher: Varnisher
    private var useGlossForNextWaffle: Bool

nonisolated var unownedExecutor: UnownedSerialExecutor {
        self.queue.asUnownedSerialExecutor()
    }

nonisolated func varnisherShouldUseGloss(_ varnisher: Varnisher) -> Bool {
        self.assumeIsolated { a in
            a.shouldUseGloss()
        }
    }