Is the issue of code-theft via decompilation or reverse engineering common for Swift iOS apps? And can I protect a small portion of my code?

I'm a new app developer and I've read through most relevant posts on this topic here and elsewhere. Many of the forum posts here are specific to Objective-C, or old enough to be considered outdated in the fast-moving world of computing. Many of the posts elsewhere are about protecting authentication secrets, which doesn't apply in my case, and a lot are by someone with a product to sell, which I've ignored.

My app is 99.9% Swift and I'm not going to store any authentication secrets in the IPA. What I'd like to protect is the core mechanism of my product, which has to be included in the binary and is small (< 10k lines). I want to make it so it's harder to steal the source code than it is to recreate my functionality from scratch, which is difficult even with the app in front of them.

From what I gathered, Swift code compiled by Xcode is protected from reverse engineering / decompilation by the following:

1. Symbolization of the app
  2. Native builds from Xcode destroys names of variable, functions, etc.
  3. Swift code is compiled in such a way that makes stealing harder than Objective-C

This should make me feel better, but the threat-level is increasing with the availability of free, commercial-grade decompilers (e.g. Ghidra) and machine learning. The fact that iOS 18 supports a checkm8 (i.e. jailbreakable) device means that decrypting the IPA from memory is still trivial.

Questions

1. People talk about stealing authentication secrets via reverse-engineering, but is the same true for mechanisms (i.e. code)?
  2. How common is the issue of source-code stealing in iOS apps?
  3. Can machine learning be leveraged to make decompilation/reverse engineering easier?
  4. Will I get rejected by App Review for obfuscating a small portion of my code?