Australian GST with revenue < AUD$75k

According to the ATO site, if I am a sole trader with revenue of < $75k per annum, I am not requried to register for GST.

However, Apple insists I register for GST in order to sell apps on the store in Australia.

What do I put on my BAS statement? If I have < $75k revenue, do I say "I had $x revenue and I owe GST of $0"? Or do I say, "I had $x revenue and I owe GST of $x/11" and then just don't pay it?

(I know You Are Not A Tax Lawyer, but Australians registered for GST but with revenue below the $75k threshold, what do you do?)

Add a Comment

Replies

Hey mate, did you figure this out? I'm keen to understand as am also a sole trader who earns alot less than 75k. I've messaged Apple a couple times asking whether there are exemptions to the requirement for GST registration in Aus but haven't heard back and don't like my chances.

I've just enrolled in the developer program and ios seems like a much bigger pain in the bum than android.

Did you end up registering for GST?

I've asked my accountant (last week) the question and he's said to avoid registering for GST if possible if you earn less than that 75k threshold.

He said this is because once you register for GST, you must pay GST regardless of whether you earn more or less than the threshold and you don't get it back. I hope he's wrong as on top of the 30% apple get, i don't want to be giving away another 10% in GST then another 40% in tax because its my second income. 20% left for a $1.50 app makes me question the value of doing all this work.

I've asked the question on the IOS developer facebook group but no ones responded.

let me know 🙂

nic

This is the same in most countries. There are two issues here. While small amounts of revenue are not required to register for taxes, you can voluntarily register in some cases. This is one of those cases.