Xcode IDE

源代码编辑器

编写代码使用的编辑器非常专业,它具有高级的代码补全功能、代码折叠功能、语法高亮功能、消息泡泡功能。消息泡泡可以显示警告信息,错误信息以及其他对上下文敏感且与代码一致的信息。

Assistant Editor

“助理”按钮将编辑器分为两部分,创建了一个辅助窗格,它会根据您当前编辑的代码自动显示对您最有帮助的文件。该按钮可以显示与标头对应的内容、超类、调用方、被调用方或其他有帮助的文件。

版本编辑器

Xcode 的版本编辑器显示了一条正在运行的提交时间线,从而帮助您决定责任归属,可以回返到以前的某个时刻,然后对源文件进行比较。而且完全支持 Subversion 以及 Git 源代码控制 (SCM) 系统。

内建 Interface Builder

无需编写代码即可设计和测试您的用户界面,几分钟就能设计出原型,然后以图形方式将界面关联到 Xcode 编辑器中的源。

模拟器

通过 SDK,Xcode 可以在基于 Mac 的 iOS Simulator 中构建、安装、运行和调试 Cocoa Touch app,从而获得无缝开发流程。

集成构建系统

处理最复杂的构件、扩展以最大限度地利用多核 Mac 的功能以及进行自动标记、预置并将 iPad 和 iPhone apps 安装到设备中。

编译器

功能强大的 C、C++ 和 Objective-C 开放源 LLVM 编译器已构建在 Xcode 中,并可从“终端”获得。借助此编译器,您的代码可以快速编译,并且由 Apple 优化后,可以生成专为 iPhone、iPad 和 Mac 中的 CPU 调试的超快 app。

图形调试器

在 Xcode 编辑器内直接调试 app。将鼠标悬停在任何变量上可深入分析其内容,使用 Quick Look 可查看其中包含的数据,或者右键点按将变量添加到监测列表中。

连续集成

Xcode IDE 配置这些 bot,分析夜间构建和测试结果,以及可以查到哪次入库破坏了记录。

资产目录

Xcode 中的资产目录编辑器管理 app 的图像,可将相同资产的各种分辨率图像分组归类。构建时,Xcode 将资产目录编译成最高效的最终分发捆绑包。

快速打开

使用主编辑器,只需按 Cmd-Shift-O 即可立即打开您工作区内的任何文件,或者在选择文件的同时按住 Option 键即可在助理编辑器中打开。在以键盘驱动的任何工作流程中,快速打开是一个必要工具。

OpenGL 帧捕捉

只要按下一个按钮,即可对 iOS 设备中的当前 OpenGL 帧捕捉其完整的表现。Xcode 显示着色器的信息,还可以直观地构建帧在 Xcode 调试器中组合的方式。

完整文档

文档查看器将会找到任何您在 Xcode 中搜索的东西,不论是在您的 Mac 上还是在 Apple Developer 网站上。

Live Issues

Live Issues 的工作方式与文字处理工具高亮拼写错误类似,不需要点击‘构建’命令便可高亮显示出常见的编码错误。

Fix-it

Xcode 能做的不仅仅是报告错误。如果您犯了一个编码错误,Xcode 会立即提醒您。您只需敲一下键盘快捷键,它就能立刻帮您修正错误,这样就不需要停下来修改错误再继续编码。

快速帮助

编程时为您显示简练的 API 文档,其中包括为代码撰写的注释。在填写代码过程中显示简短的概述,并在实用工具区域内提供更多链接和参考。

XCTest 框架

有了 XCTest API,构建在 Mac、iPad、iPhone 或 Simulator (模拟器) 上运行 app 功能的单元测试变得更容易简单。

静态分析

让内建的静态分析工具在数秒内尝试数千种可能的代码路径,这样甚至可以在 app 运行前找到代码漏洞。您将获得一份潜在漏洞的报告,其中列出了也许会一直隐藏或几乎不可能重现的那些漏洞。

Instruments

记录数据

告诉 Instruments 分析哪个 app,收集哪类数据,然后只需点击红色大按钮,数据就会被收集并存储以待进一步分析。

可视化比较

记录下数据并按时间显示数据后,很容易看出不同类型数据的关系或多次运行后同类型数据的关系。

深入分析

观察图中的数据高峰,查看此时正在执行的代码,从而方便地进入 Xcode 中解决该问题。

工具库

在库中选择任何捆绑的工具,包括从低层 CPU、网络或文件活动到高级图形和用户事件工具。

Zombie 检测

当 app 尝试访问不再可用的内存时,您可以在 Instruments 内捕获难以发现的错误和崩溃。

源代码视图

通过数据点深入分析、进行排序以找出最消耗 CPU 的方法,并直接在 Instruments UI 中查看代码以查明问题所在。

低开销取样

使用低开销收集高保真信息,只需简单按键即可对性能数据进行取样。

自定 Instruments

使用 DTrace 和 Instruments 自定构建器创建自己的 Instruments。

系统跟踪

仅占用非常少的资源,Instruments 即可录制有关系统中所有进程的信息,从而显示进程交互引发的性能瓶颈。

macOS 包含的其他工具

命令行工具

下载 macOS SDK,标题和构建工具 (如 Apple LLVM 编译器和 Make)。 这些工具能助您轻松安装开源软件或在终端内的 UNIX 上进行开发。 macOS 可以在您首次尝试构建软件时自动下载这些工具,您也可以随时在下载页面 (英文) 找到它们。

脚本语言

macOS 自带的 AppleScript、Perl、Python 和Ruby 皆已默认安装。 并由于 macOS 在 UNIX 上构建而成,您可以使用 Xcode 或 macOS 随附的命令行开发工具,轻而易举地构建流行的开源语言版本。

Apple Event Bridge

底层的 Apple Event 引擎助 AppleScript 和 Automator 拥有强大的功能,使 macOS上 的任务自动化变得轻松又简单。Apple Event Bridge 让您使用与 AppleScript 相同的消息架构来命令并查询由 Objective-C、Ruby 和 Python 等更多语言构建的 app。

音频工具

AU Lab 工具让您可以进行音频流的混合和处理。

Terminal 2

Terminal 2 提供对 UNIX shell 的访问,同时支持标签、颜色和 Unicode。

源代码控制:Git 和 Subversion

Xcode IDE 在 IDE 环境内直接支持这两种 SCM 系统,而且可以从命令行调用。

UNIX 工具

包括所有热门命令行工具,比如 make、awk、sed、ssh、tar 和 zip。

编辑器

macOS 中的编辑器包括 TextEdit、xed(Xcode 编辑器)以及 vim 和 emacs。

FileMerge

比较、区分和合并任何文本文档。

Xcode IDE

Source Editor

Write code using a professional editor with advanced code completion, code folding, syntax highlighting, and message bubbles that display warning, errors, and other context-sensitive information inline with your code.

Assistant Editor

The Assistant button splits the editor in two, creating a secondary pane that automatically displays files that are most helpful to you based on the code you are actively editing. It can show the header counterpart, the superclass, callers, callees, or other helpful files.

Version Editor

Xcode’s Version editor displays a running timeline of commits, helps you determine blame, and graphically goes back in time to compare source files, with full support for Subversion and Git source control (SCM) systems.

Interface Builder Built In

Design and test your user interface without writing a line of code, prototype in minutes, then graphically connect your interface to the source within the Xcode editor.

iOS Simulator

iOS Simulator

With the iOS SDK, Xcode can build, install, run, and debug Cocoa Touch apps in a Mac-based iOS Simulator for a streamlined development workflow.

Integrated Build System

Handles the most complex builds, scaling to maximize the power of multi-core Macs, and will automatically sign, provision, and install iPad and iPhone apps onto a device.


The powerful open-source LLVM compiler for C, C++, and Objective-C is built into Xcode and available from Terminal. With it, your code compiles quickly, and is optimized by Apple to produce blazing-fast apps specifically tuned for the CPUs in iPhone, iPad, and Mac.

Graphical Debugger

Debug your app directly within the Xcode editor. Hover over any variable to drill into its contents, use Quick Look to see the data it contains, or right-click to add the variable to the watch list.

Continuous Integration


Xcode Server, a feature of OS X Server, controls server-side bots that continuously build, analyze, test, and even archive your Xcode projects. The Xcode IDE configures these bots, analyzes nightly build and test results, and can track down which check-in broke the build.

Asset Catalog

The asset catalog editor in Xcode manages your app’s images, grouping together various resolutions of the same asset. When building, Xcode compiles the asset catalog into the most efficient bundle for final distribution.

Open Quickly

Simply press Cmd-Shift-O to instantly open any file within your workspace using the primary editor, or hold the Option key when selecting a file to open it in the Assistant editor. Open Quickly is an essential tool in any keyboard-driven workflow.

OpenGL Frame Capture

Press a single button to capture a complete representation of the current OpenGL frame from an iOS device. Xcode displays the shader information, and can visually construct how the frame was assembled within the Xcode debugger.


Before performing a risky operation on your project, simply make a Snapshot (or let Xcode automatically do it for you) to save your good state with the confidence that you can easily restore it later.

Complete Documentation

Search for anything within Xcode and the documentation viewer will find it, either on your Mac or on the Apple Developer website.

Live Issues

Just like a word processor highlights spelling errors, Live Issues highlights common coding mistakes, without the need to click ‘build’ first.


Xcode goes beyond just reporting errors. When you make a coding mistake, Xcode will immediately alert you, and a single keyboard shortcut will instantly fix the issue, so you won’t miss a beat while coding.

Quick Help

Shortened API documentation is displayed while you're programming, including comments that you write for your code. A brief overview is presented during code completion, with more links and references available within the Utility area.

XCTest Framework

XCTest APIs make it easy to build unit tests that exercise app functionality and are capable of running on Mac, iPad, iPhone, or the iOS Simulator.

Static Analysis

Find bugs in your code before the app is even run by letting the built-in static analyzer try out thousands of possible code paths in a few seconds. You’ll get a report of potential bugs that could have remained hidden or are nearly impossible to replicate.


Data Recording

Tell Instruments which app to analyze, what type of data to collect, and simply click the big red button as data is collected and stored for further analysis.

Visual Comparison

As data is recorded and displayed over time it is easy to see relationships, both between different types of collected data, or the same data collected over multiple runs.

Drill Down

Inspect data spikes on the graph to see what code is executing at the time, then easily jump into Xcode to fix the problem.

Instrument Library

Choose any of the bundled instruments in the library from low-level CPU, network, or file activity, to advanced graphics and user-event instruments.

Zombie Detection

Hard-to-find errors and crashes can be trapped within Instruments when an app tries to access memory that is no longer available.

Source View

Drill down through data points, sort to find the most CPU-consuming methods, and view the code directly within the Instruments UI to pinpoint the problem.

Low-Overhead Sampling

Sample performance data with a simple key press, using low overhead to collect high-fidelity information.

Custom Instruments

Create your own Instruments using DTrace and the Instruments custom builder.


System Trace

Taking up very few resources, Instruments records information about all the processes on your system, revealing performance bottlenecks caused as processes interact.

Other tools included in OS X

Command Line Tools

Download the OS X SDK, headers, and build tools such as the Apple LLVM compiler and Make. These tools make it easy to install open source software or develop on UNIX within Terminal. OS X Mavericks can automatically download these tools the first time you try to build software, and they are available on the Apple developer site.

Script languages

OS X comes with AppleScript, Perl, Python, and Ruby already installed. And because OS X is built on UNIX, you can easily build your versions of popular open source languages using Xcode or the command line developer tools that come with OS X Mavericks.

Apple Event Bridge

AppleScript and Automator get much of their power from the underlying Apple Event engine, making it easy to automate tasks on OS X. This bridge lets you command and query apps from additional languages such as Objective-C, Ruby, and Python, using the same messaging architecture as AppleScript.

Audio Tools

The AU Lab tool enables mixing and manipulation of audio streams.

Terminal 2

Terminal 2 provides access to the UNIX shell with tabs, colors, and Unicode support.

Source Control: Git and Subversion

The Xcode IDE supports both of these SCM systems directly within the IDE, and makes them available from the command line.

UNIX tools

These include all of the most popular command line tools such as make, awk, sed, ssh, tar, and zip.


The editors in OS X include TextEdit, xed (the Xcode editor), plus vim and emacs.


Compare, differentiate, and merge any text document.