Do you need to pay Taxes on your revenue?

Sorry I am asking this question here. I couldn't find any legal or tax category.

I am a developer based out of US. When a user buys an app for $0.99 they have to pay $0.25 tax on it. So Apple collects

App Price: $0.99

Tax: $.25

Total: $1.24

Afterwards Apple pays us developers 70% off $0.99 i.e. $0.69

My question is that do I need to pay Fed & State taxes on $0.69? Hasn't that amount been already taxed and tax taken out of it by Apple ($1.24) or did I miss something?

I searched Apple Dev fourms and only found this answer on the topic - https://forums.developer.apple.com/message/90695#90695

I appologize I am new to this.

• I think everybody is missing the point here. The developer said he is "based out of US". Shouldn't he be able to avoid paying the withholding tax thanks to the W-8 BEN-E (W-8 BEN or W-8 IMY) IRS forms? Furthermore SaaS and Software is only taxable in certain states and not in others: https://www.taxjar.com/blog/saas/saas-sales-tax Laura

Add a Comment

Replies

Revenue taxes (income) are the responsibility of the person to whom the dev account is registered, so, yes, you need to pay them.

For more information about tax issues, see “Banking and Tax” in the iTunes Connect FAQ, available in the Resources and Help section of iTunes Connect.

https://itunespartner.apple.com/en/apps/faq/Banking%20and%20Tax_Tax

Apple is taking care of SALES tax, not INCOME tax. INCOME tax, is your responsibility.

I believe the income from Apple is "royalties". I believe you will be able to deduct your expenses against your royalties ($99 yearly fee and that new laptop you needed to run Xcode 7).

from a government website:

Royalties from copyrights, patents, and oil, gas, and mineral properties are taxable as ordinary income.