How do I unittest a command line application?

I am new to swift and xcode and I'm looking for instructions on how to unit test code on a command line application.

I've tried to build one myself but the compiler is giving me link errors that I can't debug. If there is some tutorial I couldn't find on google please point me to it - but most of the documentation out there is for learning swift via playgrounds - but I'd like to learn using unittesting and code katas.

Whenever I build I always get linker errors. Also no sort of code detection works like autocomplete for the classes I write.

Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:

"Doubler.Doubler.__allocating_init () -> Doubler.Doubler", referenced from:

DoublerTests.DoublerTests.testExample () -> () in DoublerTests.o

"type metadata accessor for Doubler.Doubler", referenced from:

DoublerTests.DoublerTests.testExample () -> () in DoublerTests.o

ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64

clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)

import XCTest
@testable import Doubler

class DoublerTests: XCTestCase {

override func setUp() {
        super.setUp()
    }

override func tearDown() {
        super.tearDown()
    }

func testDoubler() {
        let x = Doubler()
        XCTAssertEqual(10, x.double(3))  // this should compile but fail the test
    }

}

Doubler:

import Foundation

class Doubler {
    init (){

}
    func double(n: Int) -> Int {
        return n * 2
    }
}
Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of lucidguppy Down vote post of lucidguppy
9.2k views

Replies

What version of Xcode are you using?

I tried this out on Xcode 7.3.1 and didn’t have problems. Specifically:

1. I created a project from the command line tool template.

2. I created a “Doubler” target from the framework template.

3. I created a “DoublerTests” target from the unit tests template.

4. I put your Doubler class into the “Doubler” target.