Fortran for Apple Silicon

Apple will develop a Fortran compiler for the new Apple Silicon platform?
  • I am a computational physicist and neuroscientist and I need Intel Fortran to do my work. Without this, I have to switch to Linux.

Add a Comment

Accepted Reply

Your best bet is probably flang which is part of the LLVM project. Not really production ready yet, but should be usable when the arm64 Macs are released.

Replies

Your best bet is probably flang which is part of the LLVM project. Not really production ready yet, but should be usable when the arm64 Macs are released.
There are currently no options:
  • no commercial compiler

• LLVM's Fortran front-end is not functional: cannot compile very simple code, array assignments, and basic libraries like LAPACK

• GCC does not currently target arm-darwin

This impacts a lot of scientific code, and in particular Python libraries that rely on Fortran, such as Scipy, scikit-learn, and many others.
I have used flang successfully on Apple Silicon, but flang/f18 itself doesn't come with a Fortran runtime (it uses pgf90 by default) and as of now, there is no compatible Fortran runtime to generate executables. Anyone able to troubleshoot this yet?
I use iMac and MacBook Pro for scientific computing with Intel Fortran, sometimes gfortran. If it will not possible to use a fortran compiler in the new Macs I will have to abandon Apple.
  • Second this, at least for development purposes.

Add a Comment
Keep an eye here for developments https://github.com/Homebrew/brew/issues/7857
You'll want to follow the gcc support, which is just starting with gmp getting support for Apple Silicon. I can't imagine Apple Silicon not having a compatible fortran compiler, considering you can use gfortran with other AArch64 targets.
Apple makes Swift and had no control over gfortran. You'll have to re-direct your requests to GNU and ask them to port gfortran to Apple Silicon.