@synthesize keyword explanation

Hi,

I am fairly new to Objective-C programming and I came accross the @synthesize keyword. I have a simple class called Book and in the Book.h file I declared the following:

#import <Foundation/Foundation.h>

@interface Book : NSObject

/* Declare properties here */
@property NSString *title;
@property NSString *author;
@property int pageCount;

/* Declare methods here */
-(void) setTitleForBook: (NSString *)someTitle;
-(void) setAuthorForBook: (NSString *)someTitle;
-(void) setPageCount:(int)pageCount;
-(void) printBookInfo;

@end

and in the Book.m file I used the @syntheize keyword as follows:

#import "Book.h"

@implementation Book

@synthesize title;
@synthesize author;
@synthesize pageCount;

-(void) setTitleForBook:(NSString *)someTitle {

title = someTitle;
}

// other method to follow....

@end

I am using the @synthesize keyword, but I dont really understand fully why, I know it has to do with getter and setter. Could some explain the reason to use this keyword and what is happening when this happens?

Thanks.

Replies

The short answer: you need to have explicit @synthesize statements because you've written methods assuming certain names for the instance variables backing your properties, but you haven't manually declared such instance variables with those names.

The much longer explanation:

Generally speaking, there are two parts of a "property". I'm speaking here informally about properties, not specifically about "declared properties" which is what the @property keyword introduces.

There's the interface part and the private implementation part.

In the interface, a property consists of accessor methods. For a simple property, this will usually include a getter method. Also, if the property is not read-only, it will include a setter method. Of course, these accessor methods reflect the type of the property.