False "xcodebuild archive" fail on bamboo/ Monterey/ m1 chip/ Xcode 13.2.1

This is so strange I'm at a loss. Background: I am a DevOps engineer validating that our iOS build scripts can run via Bamboo on new Mac mini M1 machines. Out of the box, these machines are running Monterey, while our in-use machines are all still on Big Sur.

Tldr; After modifying security permissions for our custom CI keychain so it's accessible by Xcode's CLI tools (specifically, the codesign and security utilities) the "xcodebuild archive" command we run fails with NO logged errors, causing bamboo to fail the build. However, the "failed" command produces a VALID xcarchive file. If I force the archive step to exit with a zero status, the subsequent "xcodebuild exportArchive" step successfully generates a valid .ipa that can be submitted to Testflight and run as expected. I've never seen anything like this.

Details: Initially, our builds were failing with codesigning errors related to the CLI tools interacting with our custom keychain (we use a custom keychain so Bamboo only has access to the codesigning assets it needs, this is best practice, at least up til now.) We could build on the new Mac mini with Xcode IDE just fine, and we could even build from the commandline on the new Mac mini. However, running the same commands via ssh to the new Mac mini from my local machine produced the same error bamboo was getting.

We were getting errors like this:

23-Mar-2022 13:35:58	Warning: unable to build chain to self-signed root for signer "Apple Development: Elizabeth Goldstein (XXXXXXX)"
23-Mar-2022 13:35:58	/Users/bamboo/agent-home/xml-data/build-dir/path/to/Build/Products/QA-iphoneos/Shared.framework: errSecInternalComponent
23-Mar-2022 13:35:58	Command CodeSign failed with a nonzero exit code

We were already unlocking the keychain as part of the build script, and the private key was set to "Allow all access" for outside applications (two common issues that might raise this error.)