Save DataFrames as CSVs

Hi, 

I am relatively new to Swift. 

How do you save DataFrames as CSVs (using the TabularData Framework)? 

For example, having already ‘joined’ two DataFrames on an Xcode Playground, I would like to save that ‘new’ DataFrame as a CSV - locally on my MacBook.

Any example code would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Replies

The TabularData > DataFrame docs have a group, Saving a Data Frame to a CSV Format, that lists the API for this.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@" + "apple.com"

Hi

Many thanks for responding. 

Apologies, I appreciate this will be straightforward but I seem to be going wrong with the URL/local URL.

As I say, I am relatively new/inexperienced with Swift - could you please provide some example code to demonstrate how to do this?

I would also like to combine several CSV’s into one big CSV. How can I do this using TabularData?

Thanks 

I seem to be going wrong with the URL/local URL.

Most Apple APIs use file URLs to reference places in the file system. If you just need to cook up a file URL for a quick test, URL(fileURLWithPath:) is your friend:

let url = URL(fileURLWithPath: "/Users/quinn/test.csv")

If you’re building real code things get more complex because you have to choose where to save your file, which is platform specific. If that’s the case, let me know what platform you’re targeting.

I would also like to combine several CSV’s into one big CSV. How can I do this using TabularData?

Use the append(_:) method to add one frame to the other and then save the complete frame. See the example below.

Share and Enjoy

import Foundation
import TabularData

let novels60s = """
    "Title","Year"
    "Rocannon's World","1966"
    "Planet of Exile","1966"
    "City of Illusions","1967"
    "A Wizard of Earthsea","1968"
    "The Left Hand of Darkness","1969"
    """

let novels70s = """
    "Title","Year"
    "The Tombs of Atuan","1971"