Swift Async/Await, how to bring asynchronously calculated results back to main thread

I'm relatively new to Swift, and very new to concurrency via Async/Await, so please be patient. 😀

I'm having a hard time comprehending how to do complex operations asynchronously in background threads, and then in turn bring the results back to the main thread. I'm getting various errors along the lines of "Mutation of captured var 'personName' in concurrently-executing". I've paired the issue down as simply as possible as follows, and you'll see where the compiler gives the error message.

I'd appreciate any advice on how to evolve my mental model to make this work.

Thanks! Bruce

import Foundation

actor Person {
    var myName = "Thomas Jefferson"
    var name: String {
        get {
            return myName
        }
    }
}

func main() {
    let person = Person()
    var personName: String
    print("start")

let nameTask = Task {
        return await person.name
    }
    Task {
        do {
            personName = try await nameTask.result.get()
            // Error: Mutation of captured var 'personName' in concurrently-executing code
        } catch {
            print("error!!!")
        }
    }
    print("The person's name is \(personName)")
}

RunLoop.main.run()
main()

One other comment: I was under the impression that when a Task is called, it will suspend the calling thread until completion. If that is so, then why isn't the "personName" value fully determined after the first Task, and then there is no risk of a race condition when it is referenced in the second Task? Where is the error in my logic? thx!

one way is to call function from Task, that will set new value for personName

let person = Person()
    var personName: String
    print("start")

let nameTask = Task {
        return await person.name
    }
    Task {
        do {
            let getNewName = try await nameTask.result.get()
            changeName(newName: getNewName)