Fake Downloads Attempting to Take Down my App

Hello,

yesterday, I have noticed that my macOS app HelloAI started receiving a huge amount of downloads in Australia (10x more than other usual downloads total).

These downloads are not correlating with the other numbers regarding the app's usage, subscriptions, etc.

Once, I have witnessed similar behaviour on client's app – a few days of huge downloads - nobody understood what's going on and then the app got "banned" from App Store Search.

Based on this experience, I think that somebody is trying to get my app down. Is there some way how to report this officially to Apple or how to fight against it? I feel completely powerless.

Replies

Technically it is Apple's job to throttle and regulate download patterns like this via the store instead of punishing the developer, but I'm not a lawyer.

• It is their job, but at the same time, the current protection measures within the App Store are obviously not perfect. Since I started digging into this, I got confirmation from several other developers that they witnessed something similar. Usually leading either to de-prioritization within the search, banning the app or even complete removal. I really hope that the customer support in Apple will be able to help me with this attack.

Add a Comment

This happened to me the other day. Report it to Apple as fraud. It's a way to destroy your app by killing engagement etc. Here you can see the effect it had on my app.

• That's what I was thinking. With these numbers, Apple will obviously de-prioritize the app within the search. 😕 Just wrote to Apple, thanks for the tip. Hope they'll be able to act on it somehow.

Add a Comment

I don’t work for App Store so I can’t offer specific advice here. However, they do have a fraud reporting mechanism. Start at the generic Apple > Developer > Contact Us page and follow Report a Concern > Report a fraud concern.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple