What is 'hook' mentioned at Meet mergeable libraries Session

Hi everyone,

I'm studying Mergeable libraries. (in an iOS platform)

In general, with the knowledge I knew (may not be accurate), Static Library cannot use resources except to add a separate resource bundle to the Main App Target, so I understand that the main app uses dynamic library.

But In "Meet mergeable libraries Session", it was said that below "Up until iOS 12, the runtime needed the framework's binary to discover bundles, but mergeable frameworks won't have binaries in them by the time the process is running. Good news! In iOS 12, a hook was added to enable lookup for this scenario. That does mean if you rely on bundle lookup support, you should update your minimum deployment version to iOS 12 or later to use mergeable libraries."

I don't know what 'hook' is mentioned below.

I have a dynamic library that only handles the resources(images, colors - xcassets) and those assets compiled and become Assets.car file

I set Build Mergeable Library to Yes in the build setting of this dynamic library, and I set Create Mergeable Binary to Automatic in the Main App (which relies on this library).

When the app bundle includes the framework, of course the resource is loaded, but if I set the library to do not embedded in the project setting, I cannot read the resource.

I wonder if the Merged Binary (Main App) has a library merged, and if I need to add a separate framework to the App Bundle simply because of resources.

Thank you.

• After posting the question, I looked up the flag -no_merged_libraries_hook at the https://keith.github.io/xcode-man-pages/ld.1.html page, and it seems that bundle lookup is performed on the merge binaries, not on the mergeable framework.

But in order to actually use resources, I think we need to include resources in the merged binary itself.

Add a Comment

Accepted Reply

it takes advantage of static linking

Yes.

but I think the bundle size for the app will be bigger