Using Scriptable to pull text from an image and enter it into a database

Hi all. I'm a Software Engineer, but I've never done anything with iPhone. I have wanted to try Scriptable for a while but have not had any ideas, until now. I have a book of quotes - one quote on each page - no pictures or anything to get in the way, just a quote surrounded by white space. Ultimately I would like to set up an API for these quotes, but to do so I must enter them into a database. What I would like to do with Scriptable is to access the camera, take a photo of each quote, run OCR on it, and store it in some way so that I can turn around and automatically feed it into a noSQL database like MongoDB.

First question: is this possible with Scriptable? I really don't want to create a whole app, because 1) I have too many things already to keep up on without taking on Swift, whereas Scriptable is basically just JavaScript, right? (I already know JavaScript), and 2) I just want this to be for my personal use. I'm not wanting to create something to put on the app store. I have too many things to do without having to deal with putting an app on the app store.

Second Question: if it is possible with Scriptable, can you tell me in general terms an outline of how I would go about it? I am NOT looking for actual code - I want to code it myself. What I mean is, what tools on the iPhone will I need to be accessing, and what steps would I need to do this in?