Resetting Terminal Environment

Hello All,

This is my first post to this community! Unfortunately, I am requesting help with my bash environment. I am just getting into customizing my terminal and I have managed to mess up my terminal. I have lost access to programs via CLI. I am guessing that I have messed with my $PATH. Also, I have tried to reset my terminal from using the preferences of my terminal to /bin/bash but I tried installing first fish, then zsh, and oh my fish, oh my zsh respectively. I managed to delete fish to try to use zsh, but now I have a botched version of zsh running as my default terminal and I am at a loss on how to reset it.

Any help would be appreciated, as well as any resources that I can look at.

P.S. Any recommendations to places to learn about bash and the terminal environment would be appreciated.

Thanks

I guess I should add that I have deleted my com.apple.terminal.plist file as well as deleting my ~/.zshrc file and tried to '$ export SHELL=/bin/bash'

install macports

get an example of .bashrc

go to unix dot com

Hello Aremmer,

macOS already includes an up-to-date version of zsh. If your environment is seriously hosed for multple shells, you can always run something like csh or tcsh just to recover. In the Terminal, run Shell > New Command.. > and manually enter "/bin/bash" or "bin/zsh", etc. without the quotes. That will get the system shell running so you can delete or move aside your old dotfiles. If necessary, you can also create a new administrator account and use that via sudo to fix your dot files.

From what I can see macports is just another package manager like Homebrew. I already have homebrew, is there a reason that you recommend macports over homebrew?

Thanks John,

My understanding of how zsh works is that it should provide autocomplete suggestions. This I have looked on zsh site and no luck on how to fix it. Any suggestions. Also when I try to install oh my zsh it says that zsh is not istalled.