iCloud automatically vacuums up Contacts w/o permission

How did my contacts suddenly end up on iCloud when I didn't give permission to do such? Where is your security and privacy commitment for your own software, Apple? No wonder celebrities get hacked. They hack 1, and then you get a list of phone numbers and emails for a whole bunch of other A-listers.

These are the Developer Forums, where developers of apps for Apple's platforms ask each other for hints and tips on coding.

Your question is more of a product support one, so I'd suggest you ask future questions over at the Apple Support Forums.

On this occasion, though, I'll help you out...

Are you using a Mac, iPhone or iPad?

It's pretty much the same journey on all devices:

  • Launch the Settings app.
  • Click/tap your name at the top above "Apple Account" in the sidebar.
  • On the right-hand side, click/tap "iCloud".
  • In the "Saved to iCloud" section, click/tap the "See All" button.
  • You'll likely see that "Contacts" is enabled.

You can disable that if you want, but somewhere along the way you enabled it when you signed into iCloud.