Roadmap for a MIDI Cocoa app

As a developer and Mac user new to swift, I cannot find a straightforward guide that will help me build an app on the Mac (**NOT iOS**) which reads MIDI input from a piano and provides feedback.

The CoreMIDI API doesn't seem to have any guides or examples, just the various classes and methods and transversely there doesn't seem to be much about CoreMIDI in the Apple guides and examples library (https://developer.apple.com/library/content/navigation/index.html#section=Platforms&topic=macOS).

I am a web developer so I already have a grasp of programming fundamentals and object orientation principals. I have been working my way around various Swift guides and documentation so I don't need to go over the basics of Xcode.

I don't yet fully understand a lot of the MIDI technology terminology or indeed the terminilogy used in the CoreMIDI API, but all I am trying to do for now is set something simple up like a callback that gives feedback when you play a note on a piano.

Can anyone provide me with a very rough idea/basic roadmap in plain English as to how to get started with this e.g.:

- Create a storyboard for your app

- Import the CoreMIDI framework by going to XYZ in XCode

- Create a new MIDI connection by doing XYZ

- Create a callback that displays the note played on the screen by doing XYZ

Thank you in advance!

Accepted Reply

This one deals specificqally with the callback:

h ttp://mattg411.com/swift-coremidi-callbacks/

and general app architecture using MIDI

h ttp://mattg411.com/coremidi-swift-programming/

Finally, this one, if others not enough

h ttp://www.rockhoppertech.com/blog/swift-2-and-coremidi/

Replies

You say :

I have been trying to find my way around various Swift guides and documentation and I don't need to go over basic programming principals like variables loops and functions, or the basics of Xcode.