Xcode 13 "Missing package product" using local Swift Packages

I have a project I've been working off of for a few years now that makes use of local Swift Packages. In my workspace, I have a "Kit" project that generates a framework using several local Swift Packages as dependencies.

In Xcode 12, the local Swift packages resolve correctly and compiles, but each beta of Xcode 13 gives me the error: "[ProjectName].xcodeproj Missing package product '[LocalSwiftPackage]'"

Clearing the package cache, derived data, or restarting the application does not resolve the issue. Only Swift Packages that are remotely loaded from a URL are compiled correctly.

Using local packages to separate module code, while still being able to edit in the same project, has been essential to my workflow and would hate to see Xcode 13 release with these breaking changes, and I have not seen this issue listed in the known issues for the Xcode 13 release notes.

Has anyone else experienced this issue or found a workaround?

• This started happening for me in Xcode 13 beta 5. I repeatedly delete derived data, reset the package cache, after many attempts it may finally work. Extremely frustrating.

• In my case I got the local package open in another window. In the past it will give a more specific error saying the package is open, but now it doesn't.

Add a Comment

Accepted Reply

Check if Xcode 13 resides in Application folder. In my case it was in Downloads folder, moving it to Application folder solved the problem for me.

Replies

Check if Xcode 13 resides in Application folder. In my case it was in Downloads folder, moving it to Application folder solved the problem for me.

I eventually got this resolved. What seemed to get it working was re-adding my local packages using the "Add Packages…" menu option on the project that has the framework targets using the local package. This created a new "Packages" group in the project, and eventually started compiling correctly.