Timer stops counting when screen blanks

I am new to Apple app development, so I am still learning.

My first application is a basic countdown timer.

Xcode 14.2 and Swift / UIKit Target iPhone 15.0 and higher

My goal is the timer will count down and alert the user with a tone/vibrate when it reaches zero.

Currently I have a working app but have two challenges:

1. When the iPhone screen blanks, my timer stops counting down. What is the best dev approach to keep the timer counting in the background even if the screen blanks or device locks?

2. If I can solve #1, then I will have a second challenge to sound an alarm tone/vibrate if the counter reaches zero while the screen is blank or device is locked.

Here is the code I am using to trigger the timer:

@IBAction func clickStartPauseButton(_ sender: Any) {         { timer = Timer.scheduledTimer(timeInterval: 1.0, target: self, selector: #selector(timerAction), userInfo: nil, repeats: true) ... }

And this code is doing the work to increment my counter variable:

@objc func timerAction() {         if (counter > 0) {         counter = counter - 1         } else {             timer.invalidate()         }     }

Thank you for any assistance or direction. A resource with some sample code would be much appreciated.

Replies

When the iPhone screen blanks

Its sounds like the device is locking the screen, either because the user pressed the Sleep/Wake button or because of the idle timer.

If so, this behaviour is expected. When the screen locks your app is pushed the background. Unless there’s something keeping your app running, it’ll shortly thereafter be suspended by the system, that is, all threads in your process will stop running. And unless there’s something keeping the system running — like the Music app playing — the device itself will go to sleep, that is, the application process will stop.

You have two options here: