Problem with C++ header using whatever IDE or editor

I’m completely a newbie in the coding world. Been learning C++ for some days. I actually bought my MBA M1 to learn coding. But problems seem to appear whenever I tried to code #include <iostream>. I use the latest Codelite as my IDE and when I hover towards the red arrow it says the following- error: no member named 'nullptr_t' in the global namespace I have tried this investigation provided by Eskimo -

https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/734833

But again the same errors keep occurring. As a complete newbie, I don’t know much things about these so any help would be amazing for me….

FYI I use the latest clang version as my command line tool and SIP is enabled. I tried restarting my Mac and tried multiple IDEs and code editors like vscode and nano etc. and macOS default terminal, but the the error kept the the same. Also running Ventura 13.3.1 ……

Please provide me simply explained instructions to solve this annoying problem…..

Accepted Reply

Your second screenshot almost shows us the commands that your GUI invokes to compile and link, but they are truncated.

If you run those commands from the terminal, do they work?

Replies

I have tried this investigation provided by Eskimo

Please ‘show your work’ here.

In that post I include a Terminal transcript showing how I compile a simple C++ program. Please run through those steps until you get to a failure, and then post the full transcript here.

IMPORTANT Use a code block otherwise your transcript will be unreadable. See Quinn’s Top Ten DevForums Tips for info on how to do that.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@" + "apple.com"

Extremely sorry Eskimo for late reply... I tried your C++ example-

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
    std::cout << "Hello Cruel World!\n";
}

And here are the results-

%cat hello.cpp
#include <iostream>

int main()
{