macOS SDK 的新功能

macOS SDK 是用于为 Mac 构建 app 的工具包,了解其中的关键技术和功能。要详细了解最新发布版本 (包括每个 beta 版本) 中的具体 API 更改,请参阅 macOS 发布说明 (英文)

macOS 12 SDK

macOS 12 SDK 能帮助您构建各种方便用户沟通互动的 app。同播共享让您能更方便地打造全新的共享体验——无论是开发提供共享播放体验的流媒体 app,或是支持全球用户同时编辑的协作设计工具,一切都是那么轻松。同时,Metal 中的强大新功能也为游戏和专业 app 打开了一个全新的维度。而 RealityKit 中的物体捕捉则可帮助您以前所未有的速度来利用照片创建 3D 模型。

同播共享和群组活动

同播共享可帮助用户以全新方式分享您的 app。流媒体 app 可以利用新的群组活动 API 支持用户共享内容,为用户带来高保真视频,同时所有同步工作均由系统负责处理。对于流媒体之外的共享体验,GroupSessionMessenger API 提供了安全的数据通道,让您的 app 能够在多个用户之间,同步他们各自在您 app 内的不同实例。

查看文档 (英文)

SwiftUI

SwiftUI 提供了多项新的功能,例如改进的列表视图、更好的搜索体验,以及对控制专注模式的支持。有了新的画布 API 这个 drawRect 的现代 GPU 加速替代方案,将能大大提高您对底层绘制语言的控制。而借助新的辅助功能表示 API,您的自定控件即可轻松继承现有标准 SwiftUI 控件的完整辅助功能支持。

进一步了解 SwiftUI

Metal

为了帮助您管理更加复杂的着色器代码并同时完成更多工作,Metal 添加了一套出色的高级 GPU 调试工具和新功能,助您充分发挥图形代码的潜力。新功能包括增强的图形与计算集成、函数拼接、光线追踪更新,以及 GPU 加速机器学习训练等。

进一步了解 Metal

Mac 版 TestFlight

今年晚些时候,您将能够在 Mac App Store 上发布 app 之前,先邀请测试员试用该 Mac app 并提供宝贵的反馈意见。

进一步了解 TestFlight

Mac Catalyst

macOS 12 SDK 为使用 Mac Catalyst 构建的 app 带来全新和改进的多款 API,帮助您在窗口的标题栏中显示弹出式按钮、工具提示和副标题。您还可以提供触控替代选择、键盘导航和 Siri 意图支持,支持用户随时随地使用 Command-P 进行打印,以及更多便捷功能。这些功能中有许多也适用于在搭载 Apple 芯片的 Mac 上运行的 iPad 和 iPhone app。

进一步了解 Mac Catalyst

快捷指令

功能强大的快捷指令即将登陆 macOS,这些名为“操作”的构建块能够让您的 app 功能更加丰富。不论您的 app 是使用 Mac Catalyst 还是 AppKit 构建的,您都可以在 macOS 上构建快捷指令操作,甚至 app 本身也能运行快捷指令。

进一步了解 Siri

辅助功能

辅助功能框架推出了音频图,这是一种展示图表中数据的新方式,旁白功能可借此构建音频并朗读数据。这个框架还添加了一个 API,用于查询与 MFi 助听设备相关的信息,例如流媒体偏好设置、流媒体功能和配对的助听设备。

查看音频图文档 (英文)

查看助听设备支持文档 (英文)

物体捕捉

利用 RealityKit 2 中的物体捕捉,可以将 iPhone 或 iPad 中的一系列 2D 图像转换为如照片般逼真并针对增强现实进行优化的 3D 对象。借助这个全新的 macOS API,您可以利用先进的摄影制图软件制作独特的 3D 模型,而无需具备任何 3D 建模专业知识。

进一步了解 RealityKit

机器学习

Create ML

Create MLCreate ML API 和 Xcode 附带的开发者工具添加了 Hand Pose 和 Hand Action 分类器任务。这些分类器能够分别识别静态图像中的手部位置和视频中的手部运动。

查看 MLHandPoseClassifier 文档 (英文)

查看 MLActionClassifier 文档 (英文)

查看 Create ML 文档 (英文)

Core ML

Core ML 增添了 ML Packages,这是一种十分具有前瞻性的全新模型格式,让开发者不仅能够灵活编辑元数据,还能使用源控制查看并跟踪具体更改。此外,Core ML 还增添了 ML Programs,这是一种全新的模型类型,该模型能够提高编译效率,使模型的架构与其权重分离,并能提高对中间张量计算精度的控制。借助新的 MLShapedArray API,您可以使用惯用的 Swift 处理多维数据,从而提升代码的类型安全性和可读性。

查看“将模型文件更新为模型包” (英文)

查看 MLShapedArray 文档 (英文)

表格数据。利用表格数据,您可以通过编程方式轻松导入 JSON 和 CSV 文件中的信息,还能为 Core ML、Create ML 或您的自定解决方案准备数据集。您可以根据自身需求,使用表格数据的中心 DataFrame API 对表格数据的行与列执行排序、合并、分组、分拆、编码、解码、分解、筛选、分切、组合和转换操作。

查看表格数据文档 (英文)

查看 DataFrame 文档 (英文)

声音分析。声音分析增添了一个新的声音分类器,让您的 app 可以识别实时音频或音频文件中的 300 多种独特的声音。借助一个新的时间窗口持续时间 API,您可以比照时间精度来调节预测准确性。

查看文档 (英文)

适用于搭载 M1 的 Mac 的键盘与鼠标替代操作

需要触控输入或游戏手柄的 iPhone 和 iPad 游戏可以将预构建的键盘、鼠标和触控板支持用作替代操作。

GameKit

GameKit 提供了全新的方式,让用户能更轻松地发现和邀请玩家参与游戏。玩家现在可以邀请联系人、信息群组成员,或通过电话号码或电子邮件地址邀请任何人。玩家可以查看其他玩家接收和接受邀请的状态,还可以选择先从最少数量的玩家开始游戏,同时等待其他人的加入。

查看文档 (英文)

StoreKit 2

StoreKit 的全新 App 内购买项目 API 提供了一种简单而强大的方式,让您的 app 可以安全地处理各种产品和交易。这个新 API 可以利用并发编程支持等现代 Swift 功能来简化 app 内购买项目工作流程。其经过加密签名的交易和订阅信息采用 JSON Web Signature (JWS) 格式,可以在客户端上安全简便地进行解析。新的授权 API 可用于轻松确定您的 app 应该为用户解锁哪些内容和服务。这个新的 StoreKit API 可在整个 app 内购买项目流程中使用,包括显示 app 内购买项目信息、管理内容的访问权限,以及在 app 内提供客户服务等。

查看 StoreKit 文档

查看 App 内购买项目文档

Apple Pay

在您的 Apple Pay 交易中添加优惠券、延期付款、重复付款、发运日期和只读取货地址等,为用户提供更多选择。

查看“在您的 app 中提供 Apple Pay” (英文)

查看网页版 Apple Pay 文档 (英文)

ShazamKit

借助音频识别,让您的 app 体验更精彩丰富。将音乐与 Shazam 庞大乐库中的数百万首歌曲进行匹配,或者通过使用视频和播客等来源中的音频来创建您自己的自定义乐库,从而轻松识别任何预录制的音频。

进一步了解 ShazamKit

CloudKit

CloudKit 的构建充分利用了 Swift 5.5 中新的 async/await 支持,让异步 API 的易用性和可配置性都有显著提升。CloudKit 添加了记录区共享 (英文),它在现有的共享架构基础上更进一步,让用户能够与其他 iCloud 用户共享一个记录区域中的完整内容。您现在可以在 CKRecord 上使用新的 API 来加密记录的值 (英文),从而为用户提供可靠的隐私保证。利用新的 CloudKit 模式语言 (英文),您可以检索和上传 CloudKit 模式的文本表示,这意味着您现在可以使用用于 app 源代码的相同工具对它进行版本控制。

查看 CloudKit 文档 (英文)

CloudKit Console。CloudKit 推出了全新 CloudKit Console 和 cktool 命令行界面,助您改进工作流程。CloudKit Console 是一个直观的网页控制面板,可供您在 app 的整个开发生命周期内使用。

进一步了解控制台 (英文)

Core Data。Core Data 提供了新的 API,有助于与其他 iCloud 用户共享托管对象,特别是由 CloudKit 支持的永久性存储。另外,您现在可以选择先加密实体的属性,再将它们存储到 iCloud。聚焦集成也得到了增强,可通过额外的 API 来精细地控制何时将哪些数据添加到索引中。

查看 Core Data 文档 (英文)

虚拟会议扩展

提供虚拟会议服务的 app 可以使用 EventKit 中的这个新 app 扩展,直接整合到用户的日历日程中。您将能够提供日程的自定地点、方便用户一键加入会议的链接,以及拨号详情等其他信息。

查看文档 (英文)

macOS 11

借助 macOS 11 SDK,您的 app 可以利用重新设计的用户界面、通知中心里的小组件以及新的 SwiftUI 布局。机器学习技术为准备好接受训练的模型添加了样式转换和动作分类,并提供了基于 CloudKit 的部署解决方案。计算机视觉 API 的新增功能可帮助您的 app 更全面地分析图像和视频。您可以在电子邮件和网站中添加标记,帮助 Siri 日程建议来呈现您的日程。此外,Safari 浏览器增加了网页扩展来进一步自定浏览体验,而屏幕使用时间现在可以将其他浏览器的网页使用数据纳入统计范围。

全新用户界面

macOS 11 推出了重新设计的用户界面,不仅增强了可用性和易用性,而且提高了与 iPadOS 的一致性。对于现有的 macOS app,如果 app 使用系统提供的控件,大多数都会自动采用新的外观。如果您的 app 采用自定义外观,请访问“macOS Human Interface Guidelines (英文)”,了解如何更新您的 app,使其仍然能够为用户呈现精美的外观。

AppKit 带来了多种界面元素变化,包括提醒、浏览器、按钮、菜单、搜索栏、分段控件以及工具栏。有关详细信息,请参阅“AppKit 发布说明 (英文)”。

App Store 隐私信息

隐私保护是整个 macOS 体验的核心所在,而 Mac App Store 中新增的隐私处理信息展示功能可帮助用户更清晰地了解个人信息的处理方式,并更好地掌控他们的个人信息。今年晚些时候,Mac App Store 将帮助用户了解所使用 app 的隐私做法,为此,您需要在 App Store Connect 中输入您隐私做法的详细信息,该信息会在您的 Mac App Store 产品页面上显示。

小组件

小组件让用户可以在 macOS 通知中心一目了然地快速、及时查看来自 app 的信息。macOS 11 提供了重新设计的小组件体验。您的 app 能够以不同的尺寸呈现小组件,这些小组件支持用户自定,可加入互动功能,还能在适当的时候更新内容。要了解有关设计小组件的信息,请参阅“Human Interface Guidelines (英文)”。要了解如何在 app 中支持小组件,请参阅 WidgetKit (英文) 框架。

Mac Catalyst

通过 Mac Catalyst 构建的 app 会自动采用 macOS 11 的全新外观,并充分利用 Mac 的原生屏幕分辨率。macOS 11 包含多个针对键盘、菜单、工具栏、颜色面板等的全新和改进 API,让您可以更好地控制 app 的外观和行为。要了解如何完全控制界面上的每个像素以及 Mac 特有的控件,例如下拉菜单和复选框,请参阅“为您的 Mac App 选择一个用户界面习惯用法 (英文)”。要进一步了解如何构建 iPad app 的 Mac 版本,请参阅 Mac Catalyst (英文) 文档。

机器学习

macOS 11 中的更新能有效地帮助您的机器学习 app 实现新的功能以及更好的灵活性和安全性。Core ML 增加了模型部署和一个仪表盘,以便利用 CloudKit 托管和部署模型,如此一来,您无需更新 app 或自己托管模型,也可以轻松地更新模型。Core ML 模型加密为您的模型额外增加了一层安全保障,为您处理加密过程和密钥管理。Core ML 转换器支持直接将 PyTorch 模型转换为 Core ML。

Create ML app 新增的样式转换模板能够对照片和视频进行实时样式化处理,而新增的动作分类模板可以对视频片段中单个人物的动作进行分类。对象检测和文字标记模板具有新的迁移学习选项,可以在训练数据有限的情况下验证模型的准确性。训练控制可帮助您探索模型并在模型训练期间与它们交互。ML Compute 能利用 GPU 来加速 Mac 上的训练。有关更多信息,请参阅 Core MLCreate MLML Compute (英文) 开发者文档。

计算机视觉

macOS 11 中,计算机视觉框架增加了多个 API,可实现视频中的轨迹检测、图像和视频中手和身体的姿态预测,以及用来跟踪图像和视频中物体边缘及特征的轮廓检测,还有用于定义连续视频帧之间运动模式的光流处理。要进一步了解这些功能,请参阅计算机视觉 (英文) 框架文档。特别值得一读的是“构建功能丰富的运动分析 App (英文)”,可帮助您通过示例 app 了解这些功能是如何整合在一起的。

自然语言

自然语言框架新增了一个 API,可提供语句嵌入功能,用于为任意字符串创建矢量表示;支持文字标记功能,用于训练为特定领域定制的自然语言分类模型;还可提供置信度分数,用于对框架预测进行评分。有关更多信息,请参阅自然语言 (英文) 框架文档。

SwiftUI

SwiftUI 提供了一系列新的内置视图,包括进度指示器和文本编辑器。它还支持新的视图布局,如网格和大纲。网格和全新惰性版本的堆叠 (Stack) 只在需要时加载项目。

Xcode 12 开始,您现在可以使用 SwiftUI 来定义整个 app 的结构和行为。您可以借助各种场景来编写 app,利用场景包含的视图层次结构定义 app 的用户界面。您可以在您的所有 app 中添加菜单命令、处理生命周期事件、调用系统操作,以及管理储存空间。通过将 WidgetKit 整合到 app 中,您还可以创建小组件,让用户可以直接在 iOS 主屏幕上或 macOS 通知中心里快速访问重要的内容。有关更多信息,请参阅“App 结构和行为 (英文)”。

Safari 浏览器网页扩展

用户可以通过添加扩展来自定 Safari 浏览器的新功能和特性。您现在可以利用 Safari 浏览器内的 Safari 浏览器网页扩展 (英文) 并使用迁移工具,轻松地将其他浏览器中的常用扩展迁移到 Safari 浏览器。Safari 浏览器扩展还为用户提供了隐私控制,他们可以决定哪些站点能够使用扩展,并且可以为这些站点授予只有一次、为期一天或始终可用的访问权限。Mac App Store 的全新“扩展”类别、编辑选荐和热门榜单中都着重介绍了 Safari 浏览器扩展。

App 内购买项目的家人共享

家人共享是用户与所有家庭成员分享订阅内容、购买项目等内容的简单方式。在 macOS 11 中,您可以选择针对用户的 app 内购买项目和订阅内容提供家人共享,这样用户的全家人都可以获享额外的益处。请参阅 SKProduct (英文)SKPaymentTransactionObserver (英文),以了解有关这些全新 API 的信息。

统一类型标识符

使用新的统一类型标识符 (英文)框架可以描述用于传输的文件格式和内存数据,如粘贴板;此外还可以标识资源,如目录、宗卷和数据包。

辅助功能

利用全新辅助功能 (英文)框架,您的 app 可以根据具体情境,以动态方式向用户提供一小部分无障碍内容。

文件压缩

使用新的 Apple Archive (英文) 框架可以在 macOS 中对目录、文件和数据执行快速、多线程的无损压缩。

屏幕使用时间

macOS 11 内置屏幕使用时间 API,用于共享和管理网页使用数据,以及观察父母或监护人做出的更改。有关更多详细信息,请参阅屏幕使用时间 (英文) 框架文档。

What’s New in the macOS SDK

Learn about the key technologies and capabilities available in the macOS SDK, the toolkit you use to build apps for Mac. For detailed information on API changes in the latest released versions, including each beta release, see the macOS Release Notes.

macOS 12 SDK

With the macOS 12 SDK, you can build apps that bring people together. SharePlay provides easy ways to build all-new shared experiences, whether you’re creating a streaming app that offers shared playback or a collaborative design tool that enables simultaneous edits by users around the world. Games and pro apps take on a new dimension with powerful new features in Metal. And Object Capture in RealityKit helps you create 3D models from photos in record time.

SharePlay and Group Activities

SharePlay offers a new way for people to share your app. Media streaming apps can let users share content through the new Group Activities API with full-fidelity video and all syncing handled by the system. And for shared experiences beyond media streaming, the GroupSessionMessenger API offers a secure data channel that syncs information between multiple instances of your apps across multiple users.

View documentation

SwiftUI

SwiftUI brings new features, such as improved list views, better search experiences, and support for control focus areas. Gain more control over lower-level drawing primitives with the new Canvas API, a modern, GPU-accelerated equivalent of drawRect. And with the new Accessibility Representation API, your custom controls easily inherit full accessibility support from existing standard SwiftUI controls.

Learn about SwiftUI

Metal

To help you do more while managing ever more complex shader code, Metal adds an unparalleled suite of advanced GPU debugging tools and new features to help you realize the full potential of your graphics code. New features include enhanced graphics and compute integration, function stitching, updates to Ray Tracing, GPU-accelerated ML training, and more.

Learn about Metal

TestFlight for Mac

Later this year, you’ll be able to invite testers to try out your Mac apps and provide valuable feedback before publishing on the Mac App Store.

Learn about TestFlight

Mac Catalyst

The macOS 12 SDK brings new and improved APIs for apps built with Mac Catalyst, allowing you display pop-up buttons, tooltips, and a subtitle in a windowʼs titlebar. You can also provide Touch alternatives, keyboard navigation, and support for Siri intents, as well as allow users to print everywhere using Command-P, and more.Many of these features are also available to iPad and iPhone apps running on Apple silicon Macs.

Learn about Mac Catalyst

Shortcuts

The power of Shortcuts is coming to macOS, so the capabilities of your app can be multiplied by exposing them as building blocks called actions. You can build Shortcuts actions on macOS whether your app is built with Mac Catalyst or AppKit, and your app can even run shortcuts itself.

Learn about Siri

Accessibility

The Accessibility framework introduces audio graphs, a new way to represent data in your charts and graphs that allows VoiceOver to construct and play an audible representation of it. This framework also adds an API to query information relevant for MFi hearing devices, such as streaming preferences, streaming capabilities, and paired hearing devices.

View documentation for Audio Graphs

View documentation for Hearing Device Support

Object Capture

Turn a series of 2D images from your iPhone or iPad into a photorealistic 3D object that’s optimized for AR using Object Capture in RealityKit 2. This new macOS API gives you access to state-of-the-art photogrammetry software so you can make unique 3D models with no 3D modeling expertise required.

Learn about RealityKit

Machine learning

Create ML

Create ML adds the Hand Pose and Hand Action classifier tasks to both the Create ML API and developer tool included with Xcode. These classifiers recognize hand positions in still images and hand movements in videos, respectively.

View documentation for MLHandPoseClassifier

View documentation for MLActionClassifier

View documentation for Create ML

Core ML

Core ML adds ML Packages, a new, future-looking model format that provides the flexibility to edit metadata and visibility to track changes with source control. Core ML also adds ML Programs, a new model type that compiles more efficiently, decouples a model’s architecture from its weights, and offers more control over the computational precision of its intermediate tensors. The new MLShapedArray API lets you work with multidimensional data using idiomatic Swift that improves the code’s type safety and readability.

View Updating a Model File to a Model Package

View documentation for MLShapedArray

Tabular Data. Tabular Data makes it easy to programmatically import information from JSON and CSV files and prepare datasets ready for Core ML, Create ML, or your own custom solution. Use Tabular Data’s central DataFrame API to sort, join, group, split, encode, decode, explode, filter, slice, combine, and transform the rows and columns of your tabular data to meet your needs.

View documentation for TabularData

View documentation for DataFrame

Sound Analysis. Sound Analysis adds a new sound classifier that apps can use to identify over 300 unique sounds from live audio or an audio file. A new time window duration API gives you the tune prediction accuracy versus time precision.

View documentation

Keyboard and mouse alternatives for Macs with M1

iPhone and iPad games that require touch input or game controllers can use the new prebuilt support for keyboard, mouse, and trackpad as alternatives.

GameKit

GameKit provides new ways to discover and invite players to participate in a game. Players can now invite contacts, message groups, and anyone with a phone number or email address. Players see the status of other players receiving and accepting invitations and, optionally, start with a minimum number of players while waiting for others to join.

View documentation

StoreKit 2

StoreKit’s new In-App Purchase API provides a simple, powerful, and secure way to work with your app’s products and transactions. The new API takes advantage of modern Swift features, such as concurrency, to simplify your in-app purchase workflow. Its cryptographically signed transaction and subscription information uses the JSON Web Signature (JWS) format, which is a secure and simple way to parse on the client. A new entitlements API makes it easy to determine which content and services your app should unlock for users. Use the new StoreKit API throughout the in-app purchase process — from displaying in-app purchases, to managing access to content and providing customer service within your app.

View documentation for StoreKit

View documentation for In-App Purchase

Apple Pay

Give users more options by adding coupons, deferred payments, recurring payments, shipping dates, and read-only pickup addresses to your Apple Pay transactions

View Offering Apple Pay in Your App

View documentation for Apple Pay on the web

ShazamKit

Enrich your app experience with audio recognition. Match music to the millions of songs in Shazam’s vast catalog or make any prerecorded audio recognizable by building your own custom catalog using audio from video, podcasts, and more.

Learn about ShazamKit

CloudKit

CloudKit builds on top of the new async/await support in Swift 5.5, making the asynchronous API easier to use and more configurable. CloudKit adds Record Zone Sharing, which builds on the existing sharing infrastructure to let users share the entire contents of a record zone with other iCloud users. You can now encrypt a record’s values using new APIs on CKRecord, helping you offer strong privacy guarantees to your users. The new CloudKit Schema Language allows you to retrieve and upload textual representations of your CloudKit schema, which means you can now version it using the same tools as your app’s source code.

View documentation for CloudKit

CloudKit Console. CloudKit improves your workflows with a brand-new CloudKit Console, an intuitive web-based control panel that you can use throughout the development lifecycle of your app, and cktool command line interface.

Learn about the console

Core Data. Core Data provides new APIs that facilitate the sharing of managed objects with other iCloud users, specifically for CloudKit-backed persistent stores. In addition, you can now choose to encrypt an entity’s attributes before they’re saved to iCloud. Spotlight integration has also been enhanced, with additional APIs that allow for fine-grained control over what data is added to the index and when.

View documentation for Core Data

Virtual conference extension

Apps that provide virtual conference services can use this new app extension in EventKit to integrate directly into users’ calendar events. You’ll be able to provide custom locations for events, a link that lets people join the conference with a single tap, and additional information, like dial-in details.

View documentation

macOS 11

With the macOS 11 SDK, your app can take advantage of a redesigned user interface, widgets in Notification Center, and new SwiftUI layouts. Machine learning adds style transfer and action classification to models that are ready to be trained, and offers a CloudKit-based deployment solution. Vision API additions help your app analyze image and video more thoroughly. You can include markups in your emails and websites that help Siri Event Suggestions surface your events. And Safari adds web extensions to further customize the browsing experience, while other browsers can now contribute Screen Time web-usage data.

New User Interface

macOS 11 introduces a redesigned user interface that enhances usability and approachability, and provides greater consistency with iPadOS. Most existing macOS apps that use system-provided controls automatically adopt the new appearance. If your app has a custom appearance, visit the macOS Human Interface Guidelines to learn how to update your app so it continues looking great for users.

AppKit introduces a variety of changes to interface elements, including alerts, browsers, buttons, menus, search fields, segmented controls, and toolbars. For details, see AppKit Release Notes.

App Store Privacy Information

Privacy is at the core of the entire macOS experience, and new privacy information in the Mac App Store gives users even more transparency and control over their personal information. Later this year, the Mac App Store will help users understand apps’ privacy practices, and you’ll need to enter your privacy practice details into App Store Connect for display on your Mac App Store product page.

Widgets

Widgets give users quick access to timely, at-a-glance information from your app in the macOS Notification Center. macOS 11 offers a redesigned widget experience. Your app can present widgets in multiple sizes, allow user customization, include interactive features, and update content at appropriate times. To learn about designing widgets, see the Human Interface Guidelines. To learn how to support widgets in your app, see the WidgetKit framework.

Mac Catalyst

Apps built with Mac Catalyst automatically adopt the new look of macOS 11 and make full use of the native screen resolution of Mac. macOS 11 has new and improved APIs for keyboards, menus, toolbars, color panels, and more, giving you greater control over the look and behavior of your app. To learn how to get full control of every pixel of the interface and Mac-specific controls, such as pull-down menus and checkboxes, see Choosing a User Interface Idiom for Your Mac App. To learn more about building Mac versions of your iPad apps, see the Mac Catalyst documentation.

Machine Learning

Your machine learning apps gain new functionality, flexibility, and security with the updates in macOS 11. Core ML adds model deployment with a dashboard for hosting and deploying models using CloudKit, so you can easily make updates to your models without updating your app or hosting the models yourself. Core ML model encryption adds another layer of security for your models, handling the encryption process and key management for you. The Core ML converter supports direct conversion of PyTorch models to Core ML.

The Create ML app’s new Style Transfer template stylizes photos and videos in real time, and the new Action Classification template classifies a single person’s actions in a video clip. The Object Detection and Word Tagger templates have new transfer learning options to approve model accuracy when training data is limited. Training control helps you explore models and interact with them during model training. And ML Compute takes advantage of GPUs to accelerate training on the Mac. For more information, see the Core ML, Create ML, and ML Compute developer documentation.

Vision

With macOS 11, the Vision framework has added APIs for trajectory detection in video, hand and body pose estimation for images and video, contour detection to trace the edges of objects and features in image and video, and optical flow to define the pattern of motion between consecutive video frames. To learn more about these features, see the Vision framework documentation. In particular, read Building a Feature-Rich App for Sports Analysis to find out how these features come together in a sample app.

Natural Language

The Natural Language framework has new API to provide sentence embedding that creates a vector representation of any string; word tagging to train models that classify natural language, customized for your specific domain; and confidence scores that rank the framework’s predictions. For more information, see the Natural Language framework documentation.

SwiftUI

SwiftUI provides a selection of new built-in views, including a progress indicator and a text editor. It also supports new view layouts, like grids and outlines. Grids and the new lazy version of stacks load items only as needed.

Starting in Xcode 12, you can now use SwiftUI to define the structure and behavior of an entire app. Compose your app from scenes containing the view hierarchies that define an app’s user interface. Add menu commands, handle life-cycle events, invoke system actions, and manage storage across all of your apps. By incorporating WidgetKit into your app, you can also create widgets that provide quick access to important content right on the iOS Home screen or the macOS Notification Center. For more information, see App Structure and Behavior.

Safari Web Extensions

Users can customize Safari with new functionality and features by adding your extensions. You can now leverage Safari Web Extensions inside Safari and access migration tools that make it easy to convert popular extensions for other browsers to Safari. Safari extensions also give users privacy control — they can decide which sites an extension can work with and give it access just once, all day, or all the time. The new Extensions category on the Mac App Store showcases Safari extensions, with editorial spotlights and top charts.

Family Sharing for In-App Purchases

Family Sharing is a simple way for users to share subscriptions, purchases, and more with everyone in their household. And with macOS 11, you can choose to offer Family Sharing for your users’ in-app purchases and subscriptions so their whole family can enjoy the added benefits. See the SKProduct and SKPaymentTransactionObserver for the new APIs.

Uniform Type Identifiers

Use the new Uniform Type Identifiers framework to describe file formats and in-memory data for transfer, such as the pasteboard; and to identify resources, such as directories, volumes, and packages.

Accessibility

A new Accessibility framework lets your app dynamically deliver a subset of accessible content to a user based on context.

File Compression

Use the new Apple Archive framework to perform fast, multithreaded, lossless compression of directories, files, and data in macOS.

Screen Time

macOS 11 includes Screen Time APIs for sharing and managing web-usage data and observing changes a parent or guardian makes. For more details, see the Screen Time framework documentation.