用户隐私和数据使用

App Store 旨在提供一个安全可信的平台,让用户发现由全球才华横溢的开发者所打造的各种 app。App Store 上的 app 在隐私、安全性和内容方面都必须遵循严格标准,因为维护用户的信任至关重要。要提交新 app 和 app 更新,您需要在产品页面上提供有关您 app 的某些数据收集做法的信息。从 iOS 14.5, iPadOS 14.5Apple tvOS 14.5 开始,您必须先征得用户的许可,才能在其他公司拥有的 app 和网站内对其进行跟踪。

说明您的 App 将如何使用数据

App Store 可以更好地帮助用户在下载 app 之前了解 app 的隐私保护做法。在每个 app 的产品页面上,用户可以了解 app 可能收集的一些数据类型,知道相关信息是否用于跟踪用户,以及是否关联到用户的身份信息或设备。

要提交新 app 和 app 更新,您必须在 App Store Connect 中提供相关信息来说明您的隐私保护做法。如果使用了第三方代码 (例如广告或分析 SDK),您还需要描述第三方代码会收集哪些数据、如何使用这些数据,以及是否使用这些数据来跟踪用户。

进一步了解

征求跟踪许可

iOS 14.5, iPadOS 14.5Apple tvOS 14.5 开始,您需要通过 AppTrackingTransparency 框架征得用户许可,然后才能跟踪用户或访问其设备的广告标识符。跟踪是指将从您的 app 收集的用户或设备数据与从其他公司的 app、网站或离线文件中收集的用户或设备数据关联在一起,以投放定向广告或衡量广告效果的行为。此外,跟踪还指与数据代理商共享用户或设备数据。

跟踪的例子包括但不限于:

  • 根据从其他公司的 app 和网站收集的用户数据,在您的 app 中显示定向广告。
  • 与数据代理商共享设备位置数据或电子邮件列表。
  • 与第三方广告网络共享电子邮件、广告 ID 或其他 ID 的列表,该第三方广告网络使用上述信息在其他开发者的 app 中重新定位这些用户或查找类似的用户。
  • 在您的 app 中放置一个第三方 SDK,它会将您 app 中的用户数据与其他开发者 app 中的用户数据结合起来,用于投放定向广告或衡量广告效果 (即使您没有将该 SDK 用于这些目的)。例如,使用分析 SDK 可以调整从您的 app 中集得数据的用途,以在其他开发者的 app 中启用定向广告。

以下用例不被视为跟踪行为,无需通过 AppTrackingTransparency 框架征取用户许可:

  • 您 app 中的用户数据或设备数据仅与用户设备上的第三方数据关联,且不会以能识别用户或设备的方式从设备中对外发送。
  • 与您共享数据的数据代理商仅将数据用于欺诈检测、欺诈防范或安全防护目的,并且仅代表您行事。例如,仅出于防范信用卡诈骗的目的使用数据代理商。

使用 AppTrackingTransparency 框架

若要征得许可来跟踪用户及访问设备的广告符标识,请使用 AppTrackingTransparency 框架。同时,您还必须在系统提示中加入用途说明,以解释为什么要跟踪用户。除非您征得用户对启用跟踪功能的许可,否则设备中广告标识符的值将全部为零,您也不可如上所述地对用户进行跟踪。

尽管您可以选择在任何时间显示 AppTrackingTransparency 提示,但只有您显示这个提示并且用户授予许可后,系统才会返回设备的广告标识符值。用途字符串可用来说明这些数据将用于什么用途,以帮助用户了解他们将选择共享哪些信息。如果用户允许 app 请求跟踪,但却关闭了您 app 的跟踪,您可以请求用户更改对 app 的设定,并向用户提供能转至“设置”的快捷链接 (英文),以便他们更改跟踪许可的设定。

ID for Vendors (IDFV)(英文) 可用以分析同一内容提供商的各个 app。除非已征得用户的许可,否则 IDFV 不可与其他数据结合,以在其他公司的 app 和网站上跟踪用户信息。

有关更多信息,请参阅:
App 跟踪的透明性 (英文)
Human Interface Guidelines (英文)
AdSupport 框架 (英文)

常见问题解答

我能否监控有关同意允许跟踪的功能,或是在 app 跟踪透明性提示中鼓励用户同意允许跟踪?

不能,具体请参阅《App Store 审核指南:3.2.2 (vi)》。

在显示跟踪许可提示前,我是否可以先向用户解释我为何要征得许可来跟踪他们?

可以,但是您必须如实告知用户您对数据的使用。根据《App Store 审核指南:5.1.1 (iv)》,app 必须尊重用户的权限设置,不得操纵、欺骗或强迫用户同意不必要的数据访问。

如果我还没有通过跟踪许可提示收到某位用户的许可,我是否可以使用 IDFA 以外的标识符(例如,哈希电子邮件地址或哈希电话号码)来跟踪这位用户?

不可以。您需要通过 AppTrackingTransparency 框架征得用户的许可,才能跟踪用户。

如果用户通过我们网站上的单独流程提供了跟踪许可,但是在 app 跟踪透明性提示中拒绝了这项许可,我是否可以在其他公司所拥有的 app 和网站上跟踪这位用户?

开发者必须通过 app 跟踪透明性提示征得用户的许可后,才能在该 app 中收集相关数据并用于跟踪。在 app 外部(且与 app 无关的)另行收集的数据,不在我们所议范围内。

我是否可以利用指纹特征或设备发出的信号来尝试标识设备或用户?

不可以。根据“Apple Developer Program 许可协议”,您不得从设备获取数据来对其进行唯一标识。用户或设备数据的示例包括但不限于:用户网页浏览器的属性及配置、用户的设备及配置、用户所在的位置,或者用户的网络连接。如果 app 被发现以上行为或者引用有以上行为的 SDK (包括但不限于广告网络、归因服务和分析),则可能会被拒绝发布至 App Store。

我的 app 集成了另一家公司的 SDK。如果某公司对我的 app 的用户进行数据收集和跟踪,我应该为此负责吗?

是的。开发者应对自己 app 中包含的所有代码负责。如果您的 app 中所用的代码不是您编写的,并且您不确定这部分代码的数据收集和跟踪做法,我们建议您联系相关 SDK 的开发者。

我的 app 集成了另一家公司提供的单点登录功能。我需要为那家公司的数据收集和跟踪做法负责吗?

是的。开发者应对自己 app 中包含的所有代码负责,包括第三方提供的单点登录 (SSO) 功能。如果用户因为您 app 中包含的 SSO 功能而可能被跟踪,那么您必须首先使用 app 跟踪透明性提示来征得这位用户的许可。

数据代理商是什么性质的公司?

数据代理商在某些辖区是由法律界定的。一般而言,数据代理商作为一家公司,会定期收集与自身业务没有直接关系的特定终端用户的个人信息,并出售给第三方、许可第三方使用或以其他方式披露给第三方。

哪些标识符或数据在“跟踪”政策的管辖范围内?

满足以下要求的所有用户或设备级标识符:用于将您 app 中的数据和第三方的数据 (包括您的 app 中使用的 SDK) 相结合,以便进行广告投放或广告衡量目的,或者与数据代理商共享。这包括但不限于设备的广告标识符、会话 ID、指纹 ID 和设备图形标识符。如果您的 app 为满足上述用途而接收或共享其中任何标识符,您必须使用 AppTrackingTransparency 框架来征得用户同意。

对 App 安装进行归因

SKAdNetwork 允许已注册的广告网络通过接收来自 Apple 的签名信号,将 app 安装归因于特定营销活动。这能帮助开发者在保护用户隐私的同时,验证某个广告带来了多少安装次数,并衡量哪些营销活动最为有效。

使用 SKAdNetwork 2.0 或更高版本的广告网络还能访问“来源 App”的信息,该信息会标识具体是由哪个 app 带来了安装。这样有助于在第三方 app 上投放广告的广告网络确定触发用户下载的来源 app。SKAdNetwork 2.0 还能识别重新下载,从而帮助广告网络衡量再互动广告系列的效果。如果您的广告网络想使用 SKAdNetwork 来管理广告归因,请联系我们

2021 年早春,SKAdNetwork 将支持各种广告格式的浏览型点击归因,例如视频、音频和互动广告。这样一来,您可以展示所选格式的广告,并衡量哪些广告最有效果,同时确保用户隐私。

进一步了解如何使用 SKAdNetwork (英文)

常见问题解答

是否需要征得用户的跟踪许可才能使用 SKAdNetwork?

否。SKAdNetwork 可以在保护用户隐私的同时让广告网络对 app 安装进行归因,因此您无需使用 AppTrackingTransparency 提示。不过,如果您的 app 包括任何跟踪实例,那么您需要通过 AppTrackingTransparency 框架征得用户许可后,才能跟踪用户或访问其设备的广告标识符。有关更多信息,请参阅“征求跟踪许可”。

SKAdNetwork 支持哪些类型的转化事件?

通过 SKAdNetwork 安装通知,可以将最多 64 种用户值信号共享给广告网络。有关更多信息,请参阅 updateConversionValue(_:)(英文)

可不可以使用多个广告网络来满足 SKAdNetwork 用途?

可以。您可以使用多个广告网络,前提是它们都通过 SKAdNetwork 进行了注册。请联系您所选的广告网络,以了解他们是否已经与 SKAdNetwork 集成。

SKAdNetwork 通过采取什么措施来减少广告欺诈?

与 SKAdNetwork 事件有关的所有交易都会经过加密签名并通过 Apple 验证,以证明其回传与 Apple 已知的转化事件相关联。回传中还包含一个唯一交易 ID (购买或重新下载等交易的唯一标识符),以检测有效转化事件的重现。

能不能将 SKAdNetwork 与指纹跟踪结合使用?

不能。根据“Apple Developer Program 许可协议”,您不得从设备获取数据来对其进行唯一标识。用户或设备数据的示例包括但不限于:用户网页浏览器的属性及配置、用户的设备及配置、用户所在的位置,或者用户的网络连接。对于引用 SDK (包括但不限于广告网络、归因服务和分析) 的 app,如果被发现有这种行为,可能会被拒绝发布至 App Store。

即将推出

私人点击测量

除了为网站添加对“私人点击测量”的支持外,Apple 还将于 2021 年早春为 iOS 和 iPadOS app 添加对这项功能的支持。广告网络现在可以衡量在 iOS 或 iPadOS app 中点击广告后浏览网站的广告效果。这些信息可在维护用户的隐私的同时,用于了解哪些广告能够带来转化 (如购买或注册)。

进一步了解“私人点击测量” (英文)

User Privacy and Data Use

The App Store is designed to be a safe and trusted place for users to discover apps created by talented developers around the world. Apps on the App Store are held to a high standard for privacy, security, and content because nothing is more important than maintaining users’ trust. In order to submit new apps and app updates, you need to provide information about some of your app’s data collection practices on your product page. And starting with iOS 14.5, iPadOS 14.5, and tvOS 14.5, you’ll be required to ask users for their permission to track them across apps and websites owned by other companies.

Describing How Your App Uses Data

The App Store better helps users understand an app’s privacy practices before they download the app. On each app’s product page, users can learn about some of the data types an app may collect, and whether the information is used to track them or is linked to their identity or device.

In order to submit new apps and app updates, you must provide information about your privacy practices in App Store Connect. If you use third-party code — such as advertising or analytics SDKs — you’ll also need to describe what data the third-party code collects, how the data may be used, and whether the data is used to track users.

Learn more

Asking Permission to Track

Starting with iOS 14.5, iPadOS 14.5, and tvOS 14.5, you’ll need to receive the user’s permission through the AppTrackingTransparency framework to track them or access their device’s advertising identifier. Tracking refers to the act of linking user or device data collected from your app with user or device data collected from other companies’ apps, websites, or offline properties for targeted advertising or advertising measurement purposes. Tracking also refers to sharing user or device data with data brokers.

Examples of tracking include, but are not limited to:

  • Displaying targeted advertisements in your app based on user data collected from apps and websites owned by other companies.
  • Sharing device location data or email lists with a data broker.
  • Sharing a list of emails, advertising IDs, or other IDs with a third-party advertising network that uses that information to retarget those users in other developers’ apps or to find similar users.
  • Placing a third-party SDK in your app that combines user data from your app with user data from other developers’ apps to target advertising or measure advertising efficiency, even if you don’t use the SDK for these purposes. For example, using an analytics SDK that repurposes the data it collects from your app to enable targeted advertising in other developers’ apps.

The following use cases are not considered tracking, and do not require user permission through the AppTrackingTransparency framework:

  • When user or device data from your app is linked to third-party data solely on the user’s device and is not sent off the device in a way that can identify the user or device.
  • When the data broker with whom you share data uses the data solely for fraud detection, fraud prevention, or security purposes. For example, using a data broker solely to prevent credit card fraud.
  • When the data broker is a consumer reporting agency and the data is shared with them for purposes of (1) reporting on a consumer’s creditworthiness, or (2) obtaining information on a consumer’s creditworthiness for the specific purpose of making a credit determination.

Using the AppTrackingTransparency Framework

To request permission to track the user and access the device’s advertising identifier, use the AppTrackingTransparency framework. You must also include a purpose string in the system prompt that explains why you’d like to track the user. Unless you receive permission from the user to enable tracking, the device’s advertising identifier value will be all zeros and you may not track them as described above.

While you can display the AppTrackingTransparency prompt whenever you choose, the device’s advertising identifier value will only be returned once you present the prompt and the user grants permission. Use the purpose string to explain what this data will be used for to help the user understand what they’re opting in to share. If the user allows apps to request to track, but has turned tracking off for your app, you can ask the user to change their preference for your app by providing a shortcut to Settings where they can change the tracking permission.

The ID for Vendors (IDFV), may be used for analytics across apps from the same content provider. The IDFV may not be combined with other data to track a user across apps and websites owned by other companies unless you have been granted permission to track by the user.

For more information, see:
App Tracking Transparency
Human Interface Guidelines
AdSupport Framework

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I gate functionality on agreeing to allow tracking, or incentivize users to agree to allow tracking in the app tracking transparency prompt?

No, per the App Store Review Guidelines: 3.2.2 (vi).

Can I explain to users why I would like permission to track them before I show the tracking permission prompt?

Yes, so long as you are transparent to users about your use of the data in your explanation. Per the App Store Review Guidelines: 5.1.1 (iv), apps must respect the user’s permission settings and not attempt to manipulate, trick, or force people to consent to unnecessary data access.

If I have not received permission from a user via the tracking permission prompt, can I use an identifier other than the IDFA (for example, a hashed email address or hashed phone number) to track that user?

No. You will need to receive the user’s permission through the AppTrackingTransparency framework to track that user.

If a user provides permission for tracking via a separate process on our website, but declines permission in the app tracking transparency prompt, can I track that user across apps and websites owned by other companies?

Developers must get permission via the app tracking transparency prompt for data that’s collected in the app and used for tracking. Data collected separately, outside of the app and not related to the app, is not in scope.

Can I fingerprint or use signals from the device to try to identify the device or a user?

No. Per the Apple Developer Program License Agreement, you may not derive data from a device for the purpose of uniquely identifying it. Examples of user or device data include, but are not limited to: properties of a user’s web browser and its configuration, the user’s device and its configuration, the user’s location, or the user’s network connection. Apps that are found to be engaging in this practice, or that reference SDKs (including but not limited to Ad Networks, Attribution services and Analytics) that are, may be rejected from the App Store.

If I share data with a consumer reporting agency to conduct fraud checks, and separately share data with them as part of a credit check or for credit reporting purposes, do I need permission to track?

No. You do not need permission from the user when a data broker uses the data shared with them solely for fraud detection or prevention or security purposes. You also do not need permission from the user when sharing data with a consumer reporting agency and the data is shared with them for purposes of (1) reporting on a consumer’s creditworthiness, or (2) obtaining information on a consumer’s creditworthiness for the specific purpose of making a credit determination.

Do I need to use the AppTrackingTransparency framework to get user permission to use third-party deep-linking or deferred deep-linking tools?

Yes. If your application uses any third-party services that pass unique identifiers or create a shared identity of the user between applications from different companies for ad targeting, ad measurement or sharing with a data broker, your app will need to request permission from the user using the AppTrackingTransparency framework.

I have integrated an SDK from another company. Am I responsible for the data collection and tracking of users of my app by that company?

Yes. Developers are responsible for all code included in their apps. If you are unsure about the data collection and tracking practices of code used in your app that you didn’t write, we suggest contacting the developer of the SDK.

I have integrated single sign-on functionality provided by another company. Am I responsible for the data collection and tracking practices of that company?

Yes. Developers are responsible for all code included in their app, including single sign-on (SSO) functionality provided by third parties. If the user will be subject to tracking as a result of SSO functionality included in your app, you must use the app tracking transparency prompt to obtain permission from that user first.

What kind of company constitutes a data broker?

Data brokers are defined by law in some jurisdictions. In general, a data broker is a company that regularly collects and sells, licenses, or otherwise discloses to third parties the personal information of particular end-users with whom the business does not have a direct relationship.

What identifiers or data are governed by the "tracking" policy?

Any user or device level identifier that is used to join data from your app with data from third parties (including SDKs used in your app) for purposes of advertising or ad measurement or sharing with a data broker. This includes, but is not limited to, the device’s advertising identifier, session ID, fingerprint IDs, and device graph identifiers. If your app receives or shares any of these identifiers for the above listed purposes, you must use the AppTrackingTransparency framework to obtain user consent.

If tracking occurs within a webview inside an app, do I need to use the AppTrackingTransparency prompt?

Yes. If you are using a webview for app functionality, it should be treated the same way as native functionality in your app, unless you are enabling the user to navigate the open web.

What OS versions require AppTrackingTransparency permission to access the value of the IDFA?

To access the value of the IDFA for users on iOS/iPadOS version 14.5 and later, you will first need to receive permission from the user through the AppTrackingTransparency prompt. For additional guidance on tracking, please refer to App Store Review Guidelines: 5.1.1 (iv).

Attributing App Installations

SKAdNetwork allows registered advertising networks to attribute app installations to a particular campaign by receiving a signed signal from Apple. This enables them to verify how many installations occurred from an advertisement and measure which campaigns are most effective, while maintaining user privacy.

Advertising networks using SKAdNetwork 2.0 or later also have access to Source App information, which identifies the specific app from which an installation occurred. This allows advertising networks who run advertisements on apps they don’t own to identify which app should be credited with initiating the download. SKAdNetwork 2.0 also identifies redownloads, which helps advertising networks measure the success of reengagement campaigns. SKAdNetwork 3.0 or later will also support multiple postbacks on iOS 14.6 and iPadOS 14.6, which allows advertising networks to see when an advertisement they ran was a runner-up to an app installation that occurred. If you’re an advertising network and would like to use SKAdNetwork for managing advertising attribution, contact us.

SKAdNetwork supports view-through attribution for advertisement formats, such as video, audio, and interactive advertisements. This allows you to display your choice of advertising formats and measure which creatives are most effective, while preserving user privacy.

Learn more about using SKAdNetwork

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to ask for user permission to track in order to use SKAdNetwork?

No. SKAdNetwork allows advertising networks to attribute app installations while preserving user privacy, so you do not need to use the AppTrackingTransparency prompt. However, if your app includes any instances of tracking, you will need to receive the user’s permission through the AppTrackingTransparency framework to track them or access their device’s advertising identifier. See Asking Permission to Track for more information.

What kind of conversion events does SKAdNetwork support?

Up to 64 signals of user value can be shared with your advertising network on an SKAdNetwork install notification. See updateConversionValue(_:) for more information.

Can I use multiple advertising networks for the purposes of SKAdNetwork?

Yes. You can use multiple advertising networks as long as they are registered with SKAdNetwork. Contact your advertising networks of choice to understand whether they are integrated with SKAdNetwork.

How does SKAdNetwork attribute installs?

An app installation is attributed when a user launches the advertised app. If a user saw more than one advertisement, the attribution will go to the most recent interaction with the highest fidelity. For more information, see verifying an installation postback.

What does SKAdNetwork do to minimize advertising fraud?

All transactions that are tied to an SKAdNetwork event are cryptographically signed and verified by Apple in order to prove the postback is attached to a known conversion event by Apple. The postback also includes a unique transaction ID (a unique identifier for a transaction such as a purchase or redownload) in order to detect replays of valid conversion events.

Can I use SKAdNetwork in conjunction with fingerprinting?

No. Per the Apple Developer Program License Agreement, you may not derive data from a device for the purpose of uniquely identifying it. Examples of user or device data include, but are not limited to: properties of a user’s web browser and its configuration, the user’s device and its configuration, the user’s location, or the user’s network connection. Apps referencing SDKs, including but not limited to Ad Networks, Attribution services, and Analytics, that are found to be engaging in this practice may be rejected from the App Store.

Available in iOS 14.5 and iPadOS 14.5

Private Click Measurement

Apple supports Private Click Measurement for iOS and iPadOS apps, in addition to websites. Advertising networks can now measure the effectiveness of advertisement clicks within iOS or iPadOS apps that navigate to a website. This information can be used to understand which advertisements drive conversions (such as purchases or signups) — while maintaining user privacy.

Learn more about Private Click Measurement