Inline Comparison on Commit seems to be forced in XCode 15 Beta 3

Anyone know how to set Side By Side Comparison in the new commit UI? New UI seems to missing a lot of features like multi-select of files to discard/stage...

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of MB-IUGO Down vote post of MB-IUGO
5.2k views
  • I have been using Xcode for more than 5 years and this change is sadly the first change that is so bad that I am motivated to post in the Developer Forums for the first time. I've lived through buggy code and missing features but this is the first time where, through lack of design consideration and user experience, they've managed to cripple a key feature. These problem should have been flagged early in the dev cycle and is a problem of technical leadership rather than programming.

Add a Comment

Replies

Looks like a bug to me - Editor menu has both Inline and Side By Side comparisons available, but switching between them has no effect.

Let's hope it's a bug, as the current commit UI is still pretty useless in the latest Beta 5 state. usually Apple goes to Beta 6 before RC, so it's actually concerning, as it's doubtful beta 6 will have such a large change.

This is a HORRIBLE change. I cannot stand in-line comparison.

To top it off, the highlighting of the in-line comparison is also HORRENDOUS at best.

Normally, you would see a red background on the removed line and green on the inserted.

The line that should be red is faintly highlighted and simply looks like you have selected the line of code. The line that is normally green is simply the background color.

The piss-poor formatting makes it super confusing to distinguish the changes.

BRING BACK SIDE-BY-SIDE COMPARISON FOR COMMITS!!!!!!!!!!!

Why?

Agree, absolutely unusable "Commit" in Xcode 15.

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote reply of urix Down vote reply of urix

Seems like a nasty bug to me. Or a huge step backwards in user experience. Apple please fix this!