规划您的 Apple tvOS App

如果您刚接触 Apple TV 软件开发,请花些时间来熟悉将要用到的工具和技术。Apple 提供了您入门所需的工具,而 Apple tvOS 则带来了您期待的技术和功能以及您需要的性能。

含有 macOS App 新创意和技术的故事板。

    轮到您出彩了

    提供用户可在沙发上欣赏的内容,拥抱 Apple TV 营造的客厅体验。在线播放最新的娱乐、体育或新闻内容。提供卓越的游戏或教育体验,或借助健身 App 提供私人训练课程。以高质量格式交付您的内容,如 4K 视频、杜比视界、杜比全景声和 HDR10。设计 App 的界面,支持利用 Apple TV Remote 来轻松浏览。

    Apple tvOS 提供了不同的路径供您交付内容,而最初选择的路径将会影响您随后要做的决定:

    用标准视图合成 UI

    如果您的内容在不同版本之间没有显著变化,请利用 Apple tvOS 中的按钮、文本标签以及其他标准视图和控件构建您的 UI。自定控件的外观或创建全新的视图,以独特的方式展示您的内容。您的 UI 会保留在 Apple TV 本地,并将从本地或网络获取的数据填充到界面中。

    将 UI 和内容储存到您的服务器上

    从储存在您服务器上的 XML 模板、JavaScript 代码和其他内容动态构建您的 UI。如果您经常更新 App 的内容,这将尤其有用。例如,在每周更新当前影片排行的媒体 App 中,您就可以采取这种方式。您的 App 在运行时下载内容,并合成您的界面。

    亲自绘制屏幕上的一切

    全面掌控您 App 的外观,亲自绘制屏幕上显示的一切。使用自定 2D 或 3D 环境,创建游戏或沉浸式体验。利用 Metal 等技术,以高帧率渲染您的内容并制作动画。

    在为 App 选定了大方向后,请进一步思考您可能需要的其他功能。除了一些核心技术外,您还可以根据需要采用许多技术来支持特定的功能。Apple 提供各种技术来管理和播放媒体、创建和保护数据、连接外置硬件,以及与 Siri 等系统服务集成,等等。

    从何处着手

    软件开发从 Xcode 开始,这是 Apple 的集成式开发环境。Xcode 提供一套齐全的软件开发工具,包括项目管理器、代码编辑器、可视化 UI 编辑器、调试工具、面向不同设备的模拟器,以及用于评估性能的工具,等等。Xcode 还包含一整套系统代码模块 (称为框架),以辅助您开发软件。

    从 App Store 下载 Xcode

    Xcode 包含适用于 iOS、iPadOS、macOS、Apple tvOS 和 watchOS 的 SDK。

    要在 Xcode 中创建新项目,请选取“File”(文件) >“New”(新建) >“Project”(项目),然后按提示操作来创建 Apple tvOS App。新项目包含一些默认代码来帮助您轻松入门,您选择的 App 类型决定了您将采取的开发路径。例如,如果您的 App 从自己公司的服务器下载其 UI,请选择 TVML App。如需有关如何使用 Xcode 的信息,请查看 Xcode 文档

    采用 Swift

    在设置项目时,请考虑您要使用哪一种编程语言。我们推荐 Swift,因为其语法非常简洁,从设计上保证安全,而且还有让代码更富表现力的现代特性。此外,Swift 代码能够生成运行速度飞快的软件,并可与 Objective-C 互操作,因此您可以在同一项目中同时包含这两种语言的源代码文件。

    《Swift 编程语言指南》

    《Swift 编程语言指南》 全面概述了 Swift 编程语言,是您 Swift 学习之旅的理想起点。

    挑选 App 构建器技术

    您还应在早期做出另一个选择,即您准备将哪一种 App 构建器技术用于您的界面。App 构建器技术提供了基础代码,供您用于合成界面、处理事件并与系统交互。每项 App 构建器技术支持至少一个开发路径,其中一些还支持多个路径。

    您可从以下 App 构建器技术中挑选:

    SwiftUI

    SwiftUI 是首选的 App 构建器技术,因为它为构建 UI 和 App 基础架构提供了一种与平台无关的现代方法。通过使用 SwiftUI,您能够以编程方式指定界面,并让系统动态显示和更新这个界面,在 Xcode 编辑器内也一样如此。如需有关使用 SwiftUI 的引导式演示,请查看“SwiftUI 简介”教程

    TVML 和 TVMLKit

    TVML 和 TVMLKit 提供一种客户端加服务器模型来构建 App 的 UI。使用 TV 标记语言 (TVML),将您的 UI 定义为一组 XML 模板页面。将这些页面和您用来创建 UI 的 JavaScript 代码储存到您的服务器上,并在运行时下载到您的 App 中。使用 TVMLKit 在屏幕上渲染这些页面,并使用 SwiftUIUIKit 来实现 App 的其余基础架构。如需有关使用 TVML、TVMLKit 和 UIKit 创建客户端加服务器型 App 的示例,请查看“利用 TVMLKit 实现混合型 TV App”

    TVUIKit 和 UIKit

    TVUIKit 和 UIKit 提供一个对象库,供您用于构建 App 的 UI 和基础架构。利用 Storyboard 以可视化方式或在代码中以编程方式,合成您在屏幕上显示的视图以及不同视图集合之间的导航。TVUIKit 提供了 Apple tvOS 专用视图,而 UIKit 则提供了按钮和标签等通用视图,以及 App 的其余基础架构。如需更多信息,请查看“利用全屏布局打造引人入胜的体验”

    SwiftUI 是构建 App 核心基础架构和 UI 的首选技术。所有 App 都在一定程度使用 SwiftUI 或 UIKit,但 SwiftUI 的现代化方法可以生成更易维护的代码。使用 SwiftUI 也不会妨碍您使用 UIKit 代码。您可以在同一视图层次结构中轻松地混合使用 SwiftUI 视图和 UIKit 视图。

    SwiftUI 和 UIKit 可与 Apple 的数据管理技术无缝协作,为您的界面创建提供助力。Swift 标准资料库Foundation 框架 提供了您构建 App 需要的基本类型,如数组和字典、字符串、数字、日期和其他常见的数据值类型。对于您定义的任何自定类型,可以采用 Swift 的 Codable 支持 将这些类型持久保留在磁盘上。如果您的 App 管理大量的结构化数据,请考虑使用 Core DataCloudKit 来管理和持久保留这些数据。

    设计用户体验

    App 通过提供引人入胜的体验来留住用户。您创建的 UI 需要外观精美、布局易于理解,并且始终凸显恰当的内容。

    《Human Interface Guidelines》

    Apple 的《Human Interface Guidelines》 提供了宝贵的信息,指导您设计 App 界面、导航内容,以及管理 Apple TV 上的交互。在探索 Apple tvOS 生态系统时,务必重视并仔细阅读这些指南,使用相应的 Apple 设计资源来深入设计您的 App。

    有一些功能和技术是 Apple tvOS App 所不可或缺的。在规划您的初始 UI 时,请务必考虑以下功能:

    深色模式

    借助这项系统范围设置,用户可以为 Apple TV 选取浅色或深色界面。深色和浅色界面依赖于不同的调色盘和图像素材,您可以借助素材目录来管理它们。对于 UI 其余部分,请使用系统 API 来判断何时需要在浅色和深色内容之间切换。如需详细信息,请查看“在您的界面中支持深色模式”

    场景

    场景是您用于管理 App 界面的必要基础架构组成部分。场景可以协调 UI 与 App 其余部分之间的交互。场景也可响应对 UI 产生影响的通知,例如前台和后台执行之间的过渡。请确保在您的所有 App 中支持场景。如需相关信息,请查看 SwiftUIUIKit

    自动布局

    与其手动调整视图位置来适配不同的电视机尺寸、宽高比和分辨率,不如告诉系统如何相对于当前安全区域 进行这些调整。SwiftUI 和 TVML 采用自动布局,作为其 UI 设计方法的一部分。要在 UIKit 视图中采用自动布局,请为您的界面添加自动布局约束

    可缩放图像

    融合 SF Symbols,让您的 App 更自如地适应更改。SF Symbols App 提供一个由可配置的矢量图像组成的庞大集合,这些图像能够自然地适应外观和尺寸变化。它们也能与 San Francisco 系统字体完美搭配,在不同 Apple 平台上形成统一的外观。请查看“在您的 UI 中配置和显示符号图像”

    在设计界面时考虑基于焦点的导航。与您 App 的大多数交互是通过 Apple TV Remote 来进行的。用户使用 Remote 上的方向键,将焦点从 UI 的一个部分切换到另一部分上。然后,他们使用选择键来操作聚焦的项目,或使用菜单键返回到上一屏幕。使导航尽可能简单明了,最大程度减少文本输入和其他复杂交互。

    组合是简化导航的一种方式,而且也能提高 UI 中类似项目之间的一致性。组合是一组相关的视图,您可以将它们合并为一个可选择的元素。例如,一个影片组合可以包含这部影片的标题、描述、演员表和海报图像。当用户选择了某一部影片时,Apple tvOS 会将焦点置于整个组合上,而不是个别项目上。如需更多信息,请查看“组合”

    支持高质量媒体播放

    Apple TV 在客厅中的位置使它成为以媒体为中心的 App 的理想处所。Apple 的音视频技术让您能够利用广泛的媒体格式,并获得以最高质量进行播放所需要的工具。

    播放和管理媒体

    AVKit 提供了您播放和管理 App 的音视频内容所需的一切。视频播放采用标准系统接口,其提供了内建的传输控件,而且支持隔空播放、画中画 (PiP) 和插播内容等功能。如需更精细地控制您的内容,请使用 AVFoundation

    播放高质量空间音频

    利用 AVFAudio 创建一流的音乐播放器,其包含了 AVFoundation 框架中的音频相关类型。利用 PHASE 让您的音频提升到另一维度,它支持在您的游戏和 App 中创造复杂的动态空间音频体验。

    流媒体播放直播或录制内容

    了解如何利用 HTTP Live Streaming 创建流媒体内容并部署到您的服务器上。利用 AVFoundation 播放来自您的 App 的流媒体内容。

    在开发期间采用最佳做法

    采取以下做法,为每个用户提供最佳体验:

    保护用户的隐私

    隐私非常重要,因此请告知用户您将如何使用他们的数据。如果您收集数据,请提供隐私声明来阐述您将如何使用这些信息。如果您使用会操作个人数据的 Apple 技术,请附上使用说明,以便系统在首次使用时显示。如需更多信息,请查看“保护用户的隐私”

    保护您收集和储存的数据

    如果您确实要收集数据,请务必保护这些数据免受恶意攻击。将密码、财务数据或个人身份信息等非常敏感的数据储存在用户的加密钥匙串 中。使用磁盘加密 或其他 Apple 安全技术 来储存其他个人数据。使用 Apple CryptoKit 对您储存在本地或发送到 App 外的数据进行加密。

    审查您的辅助功能支持

    Apple 已将辅助功能支持直接内置于其各项技术中,但屏幕阅读器和其他辅助功能仍需依赖您的 App 提供的信息。SwiftUI 和 UIKit 可以描述 UI 的每一部分,但只有您知道这些部分是如何在一起协同工作的。检查辅助功能标签和其他描述,确保它们提供了实用的信息,并确保基于焦点的导航简约且直观。如需更多信息,请查看“辅助功能”

    打造国际化和本地化的 App

    针对其他地区和语言进行本地化,将您的 App 推广到国际市场。利用 Foundation 框架 准备您的 App,它可根据不同语言和地区对字符串、日期、时间、货币和数字进行格式调整。确保您的 UI 对从左到右和从右到左 的语言都有良好呈现。将 App 资源本地化,并将它们添加到您的 Xcode 项目中。如需有关国际化和本地化流程的信息,请查看“本地化”

    为每个人而设计

    在开发内容时考虑社会和文化方面的差异,避免使用对您的部分受众隐含负面或贬损意义的图像和词语。如需更多信息,请查看“包容性”

    全面测试和调试 App

    在开发环节,使用内建 Xcode 调试器在出现问题时进行调试。使用 XCTest 构建自动化测试套件并在每次构建时运行,以验证新代码的运行是否与预期相符。使用 Xcode Cloud 的持续集成系统,实现自动构建您的 App、自动完成测试循环及向 QA 团队自动分发。

    优化您的 App 性能

    利用 Xcode 附带的 Instruments App,消除代码中的瓶颈和其他性能问题。对运行代码进行性能测试,查找内存泄漏,分析资源使用,以及进行更多其他检查。如需有关使用 Instruments 收集指标的信息,请查看“提升 App 的性能”

    为 App 选择商业模式

    通过各种商业模式在全球范围内分发您的 App,包括免费、免费但提供 App 内购买项目、付费下载等。您所构建的界面应能提供一致性的体验,并支持您所选择的商业模式。如需更多信息,请查看“为 App 选择商业模式”

    如何更进一步

    当您的 App 准备就绪并能正常运行时,请探索更多方法来进一步完善用户体验。小小改变也能带来大不同 — 哪怕只是加入一个特定功能,或者换一种方式呈现您的内容。例如:

    简化 App 的登录过程

    采用系统登录界面,允许用户使用关联了同一 Apple ID 的 iPhone 或 iPad 来登录您的 Apple tvOS App。通过采用多用户支持 来简化选择 App 相关用户个人资料的过程,让用户更快看到他们的内容。

    允许用户从其他设备连接

    允许用户从 iPhone、iPad 或 Apple Watch 与您的 Apple tvOS App 交互。利用 DeviceDiscoveryUI 在运行您的 App 的两台设备之间创建安全网络连接,并使用这个连接来交换数据。例如,您可以允许用户使用 iPhone 上的触控输入来控制您的 Apple tvOS App。

    在 Top Shelf 中展示您的内容

    Apple TV 主屏幕中,App 的顶行可以在紧邻其上方的横幅区域中显示更多内容。利用 Top Shelf App 扩展将这些内容提供给系统,它是您可以包含到 App 中的独立可执行文件。利用您的扩展来突出显示新鲜或精选内容,或者显示用户收藏的节目。如需有关如何创建这一扩展的信息,请查看“TV 服务”

    允许用户利用“同播共享”来共享活动

    “同播共享”可邀请用户通过 FaceTime 通话来共享您 App 的活动。通过这一功能,在您的流媒体视频 App 中实现观影之夜,或将比赛之夜转变为可供观赏的体育赛事。定义您想要通过 Group Activities 共享的活动。利用 AVFoundation 同步媒体播放。

    采集实时音视频进行广播

    分享内容还有一种方式,即采集实时音视频并储存为录像/录音或进行现场直播。为游戏或其他 App 添加这一支持,方便用户通过电子邮件、信息或社交媒体分享他们的体验。如需更多信息,请查看 ReplayKit

    围绕新功能添加运行时条件检查

    当您更新 App 以支持 Apple tvOS 新版本时,请在面向新功能的代码附近添加运行时条件检查。运行时检查可以消除发布 App 不同版本的必要:一个版本面向运行 Apple tvOS 新版本的用户,另一个面向运行旧版本的用户。所有人都运行相同的 App,并且运行 Apple tvOS 新版本的用户可以用上您增加的新功能。如需有关添加运行时检查的信息,请查看“在特定平台或操作系统版本上运行代码”

    通过其他方式协助用户与您的 App 轻松交互:

    简化查找相关内容的过程

    思考用户会如何使用您的 App,想办法快速呈现重要的内容。使用日期与时间信息来突出显示新的或当前的内容。使用机器学习分析数据,提供更优秀的解决方案。动态调整您的界面布局,让常用内容更加便于访问。

    支持 App 内容的通用链接

    如果您的网站和 App 提供类似的内容,请给您的 App 添加通用链接支持。借助通用链接,您不必为打开 App 中的内容而创建单独的 URL。只需一个 URL,就能打开您的 App (若已安装) 或您的网站 (若未安装 App)。如需更多信息,请查看“允许 App 和网站链接您的内容”

    探索更多

    进一步了解各种技术,它们不仅带来独特的功能,还可与不同 Apple 平台紧密集成,形成一个无缝的生态系统来帮助 App 跨平台运行,包括 iOSiPadOSmacOS、Apple tvOS watchOS

    分发您的 App

    当您准备好分发 App 时,可以通过 App Store 将您的 App 提供给世界各地数以亿计的用户。了解将 App 提交到 App Store 的准备工作。

    了解 App 提交

Planning your tvOS app

If you’re new to Apple TV software development, take a moment to familiarize yourself with the tools and technologies you’ll use. Apple provides the tools you need to get started, and tvOS gives you the technologies and features you want with the performance you need.

Storyboard of a new macOS application idea and technologies.

    What you can do

    Embrace the living-room experience on Apple TV by delivering content people can enjoy from their couch. Stream the latest entertainment, sports, or news content. Offer a great game or education experience, or deliver personal training sessions from a fitness app. Deliver your content in high-quality formats such as 4K video, Dolby Vision, Dolby Atmos, and HDR10. Design your app’s interface to support easy navigation with the Apple TV remote.

    tvOS offers different paths for delivering your content, and the path you choose initially affects the decisions you make later:

    Assemble your UI from standard views

    Build your UI from buttons, text labels, and other standard views and controls in tvOS when your content doesn’t change significantly between releases. Customize the appearance of controls, or create entirely new views to present your content in unique ways. Your UI remains local to Apple TV, and you fill it with data you obtain locally or from the network.

    Store your UI and content on your server

    Build your UI dynamically from XML templates, JavaScript code, and other content you store on your server. Choose this approach if you update your app’s content regularly. For example, use this approach in a media app that updates the current movie choices each week. Your app downloads content at runtime and assembles your interface.

    Draw everything onscreen yourself

    Take control of your app’s appearance and draw everything that appears onscreen yourself. Create games or immersive experiences with custom 2D or 3D environments. Render and animate your content at high frame rates using technologies like Metal.

    After you choose the path for your app, think about the other features you might need. Apart from a few core technologies, you can adopt most technologies as necessary to support specific features. Apple offers technologies for managing and playing media, creating and securing data, connecting to external hardware, integrating with system services like Siri, and much more.

    Where to start

    Software development starts with Xcode — Apple’s integrated development environment. Xcode offers a complete set of tools for developing software, including a project manager, code editors, visual editors for your UI, debugging tools, simulators for different devices, tools for assessing performance, and much more. Xcode also includes a complete set of system code modules — called frameworks — for developing your software.

    Download Xcode from the App Store

    Xcode includes the SDKs for iOS, iPadOS, macOS, tvOS, and watchOS.

    To create a new project in Xcode, choose File > New > Project and follow the prompts to create a tvOS app. New projects contain some default code to help you get started, with the type of app you select determining the development path you’ll take. For example, select TVML app if your app downloads its UI from your company’s server. For information about how to use Xcode, view Xcode documentation.

    Adopt Swift

    As you set up your project, consider which programming language to use. Swift is the preferred option because its syntax is concise, safe by design, and has modern features that make your code more expressive. Swift code also produces software that runs lightning-fast, and it’s interoperable with Objective-C so you can include source files for both languages in the same project.

    Swift Programming Language Guide

    The Swift Programming Language book gives a complete overview of the Swift programming language, and is the perfect place to begin your journey learning Swift.

    Choose your app-builder technology

    Another early choice to make is which app-builder technologies to use for your core infrastructure. App-builder technologies provide the foundational code you use to assemble your interface, handle events, and interact with the system. Each app-builder technology supports at least one development path, and some support multiple paths.

    Choose from the following app-builder technologies:

    SwiftUI

    SwiftUI is the preferred app-builder technology, because it offers a modern, platform-agnostic approach to building your UI and app infrastructure. With SwiftUI, you specify your interface programmatically and let the system display and update that interface dynamically, including inside the Xcode editor. For a guided walkthrough of using SwiftUI, view the Introducing SwiftUI tutorial.

    TVML and TVMLKit

    TVML and TVMLKit offer a client-server model for building your app’s UI. Use TV Markup Language (TVML) to define your UI as a set of XML template pages. Store those pages and the JavaScript code you use to create your UI on your server, and download them at runtime to your app. Use TVMLKit to render those pages onscreen, and use SwiftUI or UIKit to implement the rest of your app’s infrastructure. For an example of how to create a client-server app using TVML, TVMLKit, and UIKit, view Implementing a hybrid TV app with TVMLKit.

    TVUIKit and UIKit

    TVUIKit and UIKit offer a library of objects for building your app’s UI and infrastructure. Assemble the views you display onscreen, and the navigation between different sets of views, visually using storyboards or programmatically in yoru code. TVUIKit provides tvOS-specific views, and UIKit provides common views like buttons and labels and the rest of your app’s infrastructure. For more information, view Creating immersive experiences using a fullscreen layout.

    SwiftUI is the preferred technology for building your app’s core infrastructure and UI. All apps use SwiftUI or UIKit in some capacity, but SwiftUI’s modern approach leads to more maintainable code. The use of SwiftUI also doesn’t preclude you from using UIKit code. You can easily mix SwiftUI views and UIKit views in the same view hierarchies.

    SwiftUI and UIKit work seamlessly with Apple’s data management technologies to support the creation of your interfaces. Swift Standard Library and Foundation framework provide the fundamental types you need to build your app, such as arrays and dictionaries, strings, numbers, dates, and other common data value types. For any custom types you define, adopt Swift’s Codable support to persist those those types to disk. If your app manages larger amounts of structured data, consider using Core Data or CloudKit to manage and persist that data.

    Design the user experience

    An app that offers an engaging experience keeps people coming back. Create a UI that looks good, has an easy-to-understand layout, and emphasizes the right content throughout.

    Human Interface Guidelines

    Apple’s Human Interface Guidelines offer invaluable information on how to design your app’s interface, navigate content, and manage interactions on Apple TV. Make reading these guidelines a priority in your explorations of the tvOS ecosystem.

    There are certain features and technologies that are essential for tvOS apps. When planning your initial UI, make sure you consider the following features:

    Dark Mode

    This system-wide setting lets someone choose between a light or dark interface for their Apple TV. Dark and light interface styles rely on different color palettes and image assets, which you manage with the help of asset catalogs. For other parts of your UI, use system APIs to determine when it’s time to change between light and dark content. For details, view Supporting Dark Mode in your interface.

    Scenes

    Scenes are a crucial part of the infrastructure you use to manage your app’s interface. A scene coordinates interactions between your UI and the rest of your app. Scenes also respond to notifications that affect your UI, such as transitions between foreground and background execution. Make sure you support scenes in all your apps. For information, view SwiftUI and UIKit.

    Automatic layout

    Rather than adjust the position of views manually to accommodate different TV sizes, aspect ratios, and resolutions, tell the system how to make those adjustments relative to the current safe areas. SwiftUI and TVML adopt automatic layout as part of their UI design approaches. To adopt automatic layout in UIKit views, add Auto Layout constraints to your interface.

    Scalable images

    Incorporate SF Symbols to make your app more adaptable to changes. The SF Symbols app offers a vast collection of configurable, vector-based images that adapt naturally to appearance and size changes. They also blend well with the San Francisco system font, resulting in a consistent look across Apple platforms. View Configuring and displaying symbol images in your UI.

    Design your interface with focus-based navigation in mind. Most interactions with your app occur through the Apple TV remote. People use the directional buttons on the remote to change focus from one part of your UI to another. They then use the select button to act on the focused item, or the Menu button to navigate back to the previous screen. Make navigation as straightforward as possible, and minimize text input and other complex interactions.

    Lockups are one way to simplify navigation, and promote consistency among similar items in your UI. A lockup is a group of related views that you combine into a single, selectable element. For example, a movie lockup might include the movie’s title, description, cast list, and poster image. When someone selects a movie, tvOS places focus on the entire lockup instead of on individual items. For more information, view Lockups.

    Support high-quality media playback

    Its position in the living room makes Apple TV the ideal location for media-centric apps. Apple’s audio and video technologies give you access to a wide range of media formats, and the tools you need to play them at the highest quality.

    Play and manage media

    AVKit provides everything you need to play and manage your app’s audio and video content. Display video using the standard system interface, which offers built-in transport controls and supports AirPlay, Picture in Picture (PiP), interstitial content, and more. For more fine-grained control over your content, use AVFoundation.

    Play high-quality spatial audio

    Create the ultimate music player using AVFAudio, which contains the audio-specific types from the AVFoundation framework. Take your audio into another dimension using PHASE, which supports the creation of complex, dynamic spatial audio experiences in your games and apps.

    Stream live or recorded content

    Learn how to create streamed content and deploy it to your server using HTTP Live Streaming. Play back that streamed content from you app using AVFoundation.

    Adopt best practices during development

    Offer the best possible experience for everyone by doing the following:

    Protect people’s privacy

    Privacy is important, so keep people informed about how you use their data. If you collect data, offer a privacy statement that explains how you use that information. When you use Apple technologies that operate on personal data, include usage descriptions for the system to display on first use. For more information, view Protecting the user’s privacy.

    Secure the data you collect and store

    If you do collect data, make sure you protect that data from malicious attacks. Store very sensitive data such as passwords, financial data, or personally identifiable information in the user’s encrypted Keychain. Use on-disk encryption or other Apple security technologies to store other personal data. Use Apple CryptoKit to encrypt data that you store locally or send outside your app.

    Audit your accessibility support

    Apple builds accessibility support right into its technologies, but screen readers and other accessibility features rely on information your app provides. SwiftUI and UIKit can describe each piece of your UI, but only you know how those pieces work together. Review accessibility labels and other descriptions to make sure they provide helpful information, and make sure focus-based navigation is simple and intuitive. For more information, view Accessibility.

    Internationalize and localize your app

    Expand your app to international markets by localizing it for other regions and languages. Prepare your app using the Foundation framework, framework, which supports the formatting of strings, dates, times, currencies, and numbers for different languages and regions. Ensure your UI looks good for both left-to-right and right-to-left languages. Localize app resources and add them to your Xcode project. For information about the internationalization and localization process, view Localization.

    Choose inclusive words and terms

    Consider social and cultural differences when developing content, and avoid images and terms that have negative or derogatory connotations for portions of your audience. For more information, view Inclusion.

    Test and debug your app thoroughly

    During the development cycle, debug problems as they arise using the built-in Xcode debugger. Build automated test suites using XCTest and run them during every build to validate new code works as expected. Use the continuous integration system of Xcode Cloud to automate builds, test cycles, and the distribution of your apps to your QA teams.

    Optimize your app’s performance

    Eliminate bottlenecks and other performance issues in your code using the Instruments app that comes with Xcode. Profile your running code, find memory leaks, analyze resource usage, and much more. For information about how to gather metrics using Instruments, view Improving your app’s performance.

    How to take it further

    Once you have your app up and running, look for additional ways to improve the experience. Little things can make a big difference, whether it’s adding a particular feature, or approaching your content in a different way. For example:

    Simplify the login process for your app

    Adopt the system sign-in interface to let people sign into your tvOS app using an iPhone or iPad associated with the same Apple ID. Get people to their content more quickly by adopting multi-user support, which simplifies the process of selecting an app-specific user profile.

    Allow people to connect from their other devices

    Let people interact with your tvOS app from their iPhone, iPad, or Apple Watch. Create a secure network connection between your app running on both devices using DeviceDiscoveryUI, and use that connection to exchange data. For example, you might let someone control your tvOS app using touch input from their iPhone.

    Showcase content in the Top Shelf

    The top row of apps on the Apple TV Home screen can display additional content in the banner area immediately above. Deliver that content to the system using a Top Shelf app extension, which is a separate executable you include in your app. Use your extension to highlight new or featured content, or display someone’s favorite shows. For information about how to create this extension, view TV Services.

    Allow people to share activities using SharePlay

    SharePlay invites people to share your app’s activities over a FaceTime call. Use it to implement movie-watching night in your streaming video app, or use it to turn game night into a spectator sport. Define the activities you want to share using Group Activities. Synchronize media playback using AVFoundation.

    Capture live audio and video for broadcast

    Another way to share content is to capture live video and audio and save it as a recording or broadcast it live. Add this support to games or other apps when people might want to share their experience over email, messages, or social media. For more information, view ReplayKit.

    Add runtime condition checks around new features

    When you update your app to support a new version of tvOS, place runtime condition checks around code for new features. Runtime checks eliminate the need to ship different versions of your app: one for people running the new version of tvOS, and one for people running older versions. Everyone runs the same app, and people on the newer version of tvOS gain access to the new features you added. For information about how to add runtime checks, view Running code on a specific platform or OS version.

    Make it easy for people to interact with your app’s content in other ways:

    Make it easier to find relevant content

    Think about how people use your app, and find ways to surface important content quickly. Use date and time information to highlight new or current content. Use machine learning to analyze data and offer better solutions. Rearrange your interface dynamically to make frequently used content more accessible.

    Support universal links for your app’s content

    If your website and app offer similar content, add universal link support to your app. With universal links, you don’t need to create separate URLs to open content in your app. One URL opens your app when it’s installed or your website when it isn’t. For more information, view Allowing apps and websites to link to your content.

    Explore more

    Learn more about technologies that provide unique capabilities, yet integrate tightly with Apple platforms to form a seamless ecosystem for apps across iOS, iPadOS, macOS, tvOS, and watchOS.

    Distributing your apps

    When you’re ready to distribute your apps, the App Store lets you deliver your apps to hundreds of millions people around the world. Learn about preparing your apps for submission to the App Store.

    Learn about submitting apps