在儿童类别中创建业务

Originator 的团队认为,即使年龄很小的儿童也会认可和欣赏品质,他们的 app 正是基于这一点打造的。在开发 Endless 系列 app 时,团队主要专注在教育和娱乐之间取得恰当的平衡。

“实际上,我们要满足两类用户的需求。一类是父母,他们选择下载哪些 app。他们寻找具有高教育价值的 app。”Originator 首席运营官 Joe Ghazal 说道。“另一类是孩子,他们只在乎玩得开心,注重的是乐趣。要设计一款 app,同时满足这两类用户的需求,非常有挑战性。实际上难度比想象的更大。”

Originator 的第一款 app Endless Alphabet 作为一款免费 app 推出。这是一个慎重的选择,因为他们期望能够吸引广泛的用户,并在家长和教育工作者中建立口碑。Originator 首席执行官 Rex Ishibashi 提到:“从那时起,Endless 的口碑就传开了。在某个时间点,我们到达了从量变到质变,家长们开始询问何时会推出下一款 Endless app。”

从那之后,Originator 尝试了多种商业模式,包括收费、免费增值和自动续期订阅等。

Ghazal 指出,收费模式非常适合那些喜欢事先一次性支付来享受完整体验的家长,而且也让 Originator 能够为那些可能想要体验 Endless 系列中其他 app 的家长推出 app 套装

免费增值模式是 Originator 目前最为成功的模式,这让用户可以先尝试 app 体验,然后再做出购买决定,而且也能帮助 Originator 逐渐扩充内容。Ghazal 说道:“我们可以从小开始,逐渐做大,先推出 app,里面放入少量的内容,将其作为 app 内购买项目销售,然后根据客户的需求增加更多模块。”

Originator 的最新 app Endless Learning Academy 采用了自动续期订阅模式,这个模式非常适合想要以较低月费访问 Originator 海量内容库与各种活动的用户。

Ghazal 说道:“适合所有人的万能模式是不存在的。你必须灵活应变,满足客户和用户的需求。这是我们获得的最大启发。”

Ishibashi 指出,从根本上说,Endless 系列 app 的成功源自于公司竭力打造绝佳 app 体验的热情。“让孩子安静地玩 app 是一回事。但是,父母注意到孩子第一次认出字母,第一次拼读出单词,第一次能够在合适的语境中使用这些单词,那完全是另一回事。这种体验弥足珍贵。”

创立时间
2013

位置
旧金山湾区

提及的 App

类别
儿童

平台
iOS

适合所有人的万能模式是不存在的。你必须灵活应变,满足客户和用户的需求。这是我们获得的最大启发。

Joe Ghaza,Originator 首席运营官

Developer Insight

Originator

Watch the video

Originator was formed by five parents passionate about creating quality educational apps for young children. Founders Joe Ghazal and Rex Ishibashi share their approach to building a sustainable business in the Kids category, and the unexpected challenges and rewards they encountered along the way.

Building a Business in the Kids Category

The team at Originator creates apps with the understanding that even very young children recognize and appreciate quality. With the Endless series of apps, much of the team’s effort goes into striking the right balance between education and entertainment.

“We really have two audiences. You’ve got the parents, who are going to be the ones that choose to download the app. And they're looking for high educational value,” says Joe Ghazal, COO at Originator. “And then you've got the kids, and they're all about having fun, they're looking for that delight. Designing an experience that satisfies both of those audiences is very challenging. It's a lot harder than it looks.”

Originator’s first app, Endless Alphabet, launched as a free app — a deliberate choice to reach a broad audience and get the word out among parents and educators. “From there, word of mouth really spread the word of Endless,” says Rex Ishibashi, CEO at Originator. “At a certain point, we reached a critical mass where parents were actually asking when the next Endless app was coming out.”

Since then, Originator has explored several business models, including paid, freemium, and auto-renewable subscription.

Ghazal says that the paid model resonates with parents who prefer to pay upfront to enjoy the whole experience, and enables Originator to offer app bundles to those who might enjoy other apps in the Endless series.

Freemium, currently Originator’s most successful model, allows users to try the app experience before making a purchasing decision, and helps Originator to scale its content gradually. “It allows us to start small, put out an app that has a small amount of content in it, sell that as an in-app purchase, and then add more modules as customers want," says Ghazal.

The auto-renewable subscription model used in Originator’s newest app, the Endless Learning Academy, appeals to users who want access to Originator's extensive library of content and activities at a low monthly fee.

“The biggest takeaway for us is that there's not a one-size-fits-all,” says Ghazal. “You have to be willing to be flexible to meet the needs of the customers and the users.”

Ishibashi says that, ultimately, the success of the Endless apps has been driven by the company’s passion to deliver the best app experience possible. “It’s one thing for a child to be quietly playing with an app. It's a whole different thing and dimension if the parent notices that a child is, for the first time, recognizing letters. Being able to spell. Being able to use those words in proper context. That's priceless.”

Read more about Using the Freemium Business Model

Learn more about Offering Subscriptions

The biggest takeaway for us is that there's not a one-size-fits-all. You have to be willing to be flexible to meet the needs of the customers and the users.

Joe Ghazal, COO at Originator